PDA

View Full Version : Helloooo Out There :)

ENTICNG
December 25th, 2005, 12:09 AM
HEY EVERYONE! I'm a total newbie....more like prenewbie lol. I feel like I'm walking into a very dark room or I'm yelling into a vast cave............anyway HELP!!! please need to know how to connect wirelessly in Ubuntu........

erikpiper
December 25th, 2005, 12:12 AM
Well hello ENTICNG! Dont feel lost! We have some of the best community help forums anywhere!

I dont use wireless myself... I suggest posting some additional info, like what wifi card you are using, so you get better and faster help.

keheikev
December 25th, 2005, 12:24 AM
newbie number 2 in the clan of the cave bear welcome. I am installing ubuntu on a winxp/ win98 system but I want to direct it to a particular drive g: which is of course fat32 now. I will try to find information on that aspect but meanwhile I am going to follow what happens on your wireless adventure.
Keheikev
news//:annexcafe.com.annecafe.general.linux2linux
same software different operating system

ENTICNG
December 25th, 2005, 12:25 AM
:KS TYVM well I'm kind of in the dark about hardware (not really it's just my oldman gets hand-me-downs from a computer guru and he, my boyfriend barely knows how to email.........) Anyway I have a D-link routed thru the ethernet port........?

erikpiper
December 25th, 2005, 12:29 AM
keheikev- Tiz easy. Just do the install, and until you say "yes" to partitioning, nothing is changed (in case you get confused..)

It should be all self explanatory. Try it!

TimelessRogue
December 25th, 2005, 12:35 AM
Hey, folks ... how 'bout a big "Welcome!" to Enticer? And while you're at it, someone with a D-link wireless setup jump in here and give her a hand with set-up. I would but my setup is different: Linksys and/or DSL, depending.

ENTICNG
December 25th, 2005, 12:42 AM
TIMELESS I sure do appreciate that.....oh and by the way HAPPY WINTER HOLIDAYS EVERYONE!!! :)-

erikpiper
December 25th, 2005, 12:50 AM