PDA

View Full Version : Beginning as an open source developer

cpufreak2589
February 25th, 2009, 06:29 AM
I'm not sure of the best place to ask this, so I've decided to start here. I'm a college student majoring in Computer Science, and I've realized that I am bored with the basic textbook assignments day after day. Given my preexisting affinity for open source and my use of it in day to day life, I decided that I would like to start honing my coding skills on my own and to contribute to something I care so much about by doing it. I want to start contributing to an open source project.

I'm working on the technical part already. I know C++ and java, and I was considering picking up python (a class is requiring me to self-teach a niche high level language), as I have seen many OS projects written in it. What I need help with is getting my feet wet. I don't know what I want to work on, I use ubuntu, mythtv, and openmoko software in my daily life, and I would like to contribute to (or even create) something that I'll use. I am unsure how to get started, or rather, how to find the "door" to this community of coders. What do I need to do to find a project I like, how do I get involved, what can I expect to be able to contribute as a new programmer? Are there sites devoted to coders finding projects? Something like monster mixed with facebook for open source projects? What language SHOULD I learn, or what technologies/platforms should I focus on first? I have some free reign in my classes coming up in future semesters, so I would like to fit in this open source contribution wherever I can.

Forgive me if this is horribly off-topic for this board, like I said I don't really know where to put this, I haven't met any coder-friends online or in person, and I have never come across a large enough forum for programming to feel like I'd get a good answer by asking. If anyone could even point me in the right direction, I'd be grateful.

patryk77
February 25th, 2009, 06:46 AM