PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to start 8.10 on Dell X200

sailfishshooter
February 24th, 2009, 09:17 PM
I have been trying to successfully install and run Ubuntu 8.10 on my Dell X200 (800 mhz Pentium III with 32K L1 Cache, 512K L2 Cache and 631M physical memory) since last Friday. I have no previous experience with Ubuntu (or Linux).

According to specifications I should be able to install and run Ubuntu 8.10. I have tried both Ubuntu 8.10 and 8.10 alternate. I appear to have successfully installed both 8.10 and 8.10 alternate, but in both cases the system "hangs" when the OS starts up, leaving me with either a brown screen with only a pointer (8.10) or a screen with four icons in the middle that do not work (8.10 alternate).

kestrel1
February 24th, 2009, 09:22 PM
Have you managed to run the Live CD first?
You may want to think about using 8.04LTS, it may work better.
Are you sure that the CD burnt correctly, try re-burning at a slower speed.
You could also take a look at Xubuntu, it is not as heavy on resources as Ubuntu & is recommended for older systems.

sailfishshooter
February 24th, 2009, 09:30 PM
I was never able to run from the Live CD. Hung up every time 10-15 secs after the login prompt. That's when I decided to run the althernate install CD which did not offer the opportunity to run from the CD, only to install. So, I did the install. Installation completed. Pulled CD. Restarted computer, logged in, system "hung" with four icons in center of screen. Reboooted several times, always with the same result. Then, went back to the 8.10 CD and did an install rather than trying to run from CD. Installation completed. Removed CD and restarted computer. System "hung" after login prompt with pointer in center of brown screen. Pointer will move, but that is it.

I have not tried 8.04LTS yet or Xbuntu. Recommendation?

I did a disk verification on both disks and they passed, and I did burn at a slower speed.

kestrel1
February 24th, 2009, 09:35 PM