PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Noob in need of help. Looking for alternative way of installing Ubuntu.

jinonicolas
February 24th, 2009, 02:26 PM
Hi, guys. I'm new to Ubuntu and I find myself in a position where I can learn how to use it. Problem is, I'm somewhat going without limbs when trying to install this to my old HP Pavillion. Maybe then I'd find some use for this brick.

The easiest way would've been for me to burn the downloaded Ubuntu 8.10 ISO I have here in desktop's "archive." Unfortunately, my laptop's combo drive isn't working anymore. So scratch that idea.

Another way was to boot from USB. Since I have Windows XP installed in my desktop, I used UNetbootin to make my bootable USB installer...only then did I neglect to remember that my old laptop doesn't have USB 2.0 other than those in the PCMCIA card. So scratch that idea again. I tried looking for any bios update that could let me detect my pcmcia card on boot up...but no luck there.

My last try was using Wubi with the downloaded 8.10, since my old laptop did have Windows XP installed anyway. Unfortunately, I received Error 15: file not found. So, that was a failure too.

I have no CD/DVD drive, no USB 2.0 aside from that in the PCMCIA, and no floppy drive either. Thus, my problem of having no way to boot from the Ubuntu installer.

I'm sorry if this became quite lengthy...but here's my question...

Given the fact that I have no other boot device except for the HD, is there a way where I can "copy" (for the loss of any better words) the Ubuntu installer to my C:, create like an autoexec.bat-ish to execute said installer? I'm guessing that using DOS commands on this wouldn't work...please, any help would be much appreciated (aside from getting a new odd for this brick).

Thanks in advance, guys! :D

theozzlives
February 24th, 2009, 02:32 PM
I remember in the WIKI that you can do a network or internet install.

jinonicolas
February 24th, 2009, 02:46 PM