PDA

View Full Version : What's your greatest achievement in programming/game design?

some_random_noob
February 24th, 2009, 07:16 AM
Story sharing time...

konqueror7
February 24th, 2009, 07:32 AM
i think everybodies achievement is when they first went to run their first program...i was in my programming class using C, with the infamous 'Hello World' example...from there, everything shifted, i am now a certified developer (so to speak)!

handy
February 24th, 2009, 07:38 AM
I made a DOpus inspired (though not a clone) directory utility called GrOpus ('cause my name is Greg), using Cando 3.0, which was a wonderful object oriented programming language that died with Commodore unfortunately.

GrOpus, had a text editor which I wrote & used AmigaOS commands plus called other tools & app's written by other people. GrOpus was never meant to be a project for other people, it was my way of teaching myself CanDo.

If the internet had of been available in those days then GrOpus & its source would have been freely available & perhaps it would have become far more than I can imagine now. As it is I can barely remember it... :lolflag:

doorknob60
February 24th, 2009, 07:49 AM
Made some games in Game Maker when I was in Middle School :-P Also when I was like 10 I did really complex batch files and even a simple game in Quick Basic. My game maker games can still be found here if anyone's curious :P http://gmc.yoyogames.com/?showtopic=234946 One of them I even managed to get it uploaded to download.com :D My Quick Basic game can be found here, it works in dosbox http://geocities.com/doorknob60_2/storage/downloads/dosgames/Hi-lo.zip

It's a game where one person chooses a number between 1 and 1000, and the other person tries to guess, and it says if it's too high or too low. Very simple, but it works. Lost the source though lol....a long time ago.

I'm suprised I still have it, I have so much random crap uploaded to my crappy free hosts from when I was younger :-P

immerohnegott