PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Updating Nvidia drivers hosed my display

RockDawg
February 24th, 2009, 03:20 AM
I just installed Ubuntu 8.10 for the purpose of running XBMC. I am a total Linux newb, but the Ubuntu install went like a breeze. Next I needed to update the Nvidia display drivers. Here's where everything went downhill. I downloaded the file (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run) and tried to run it with "sudo sh" and it complained that i needed to shut down X server, so I read that "/etc/init.d/gdm stop" would do it but it still complained it was running. So I ran it again and then followed it with Ctrl+Alt+F1 and then the Nvidia file would run. During installation it said something about not being able to find the right kernel and asked if I wanted it to compile a new one. I said yes, and everything seemed good until it rebooted. Now Ubuntu will only boot intt low graphics mode and neither of the default propietary version (1.73 and 1.77) fix it either.

So how do I get things back to normal? And then how do I correctly update to the latest Nvidia drivers?

hansdown
February 24th, 2009, 03:27 AM
Hi RockDawg.

That version is still in beta testing.

Try going to synaptic package manager, and installing the nvidia-glx

version.

RockDawg
February 24th, 2009, 03:49 AM
I didn't see just nvidia-glx, but there was a nvidia-glx-180 and I selected it. It seemed to install and said it was removing 1.73, but when I go to Hardware Drivers, it says it's not using a propietary driver and the only options are 1.73 or 1.77.

hansdown
February 24th, 2009, 03:58 AM
If you click system> administation>hardware drivers, enter password. Does it say anything about these drivers?

Sorry. The 1.77 drivers seem to be stable. You should use those.

RockDawg
February 24th, 2009, 04:32 AM
If you click system> administation>hardware drivers, enter password. Does it say anything about these drivers?

Sorry. The 1.77 drivers seem to be stable. You should use those.