PDA

View Full Version : A Question for Stock Traders: Will the Banks be Nationalized?

bobnutfield
February 23rd, 2009, 10:44 PM
Hello Everyone,

Just a question for fellow dabblers in the stock market. I am a low level trader, and I am drooling at the mouth to buy some of the dirt cheap bank stocks. I do not believe they will be nationalized, which would, of course wipe out the shareholders. If I am right, Citigroup, B of A, Lloyds, Barclays and Royal bank of Scotland will make a fortune for long positions of three to five years.

If I am wrong, and they are nationalized, I will lose every cent I invest. I haven't parted with my cash yet, but I was wondering if any fellow traders had an opinion they would like to share. Also, what other sectors to you believe are this undervalued. Many will say that the bank stocks are so cheap for a reason, but according to their REAL market cap, they are ridiculously cheap.

Anyone?

NintendoTogepi
February 23rd, 2009, 10:55 PM
I think nationalization is unfortunately likely :(

bobnutfield
February 23rd, 2009, 10:58 PM

Dou have a reason why you think this? I have a number of reasons why I do not believe nationalization will happen, but if you (or anyone else) has a compelling reason that makes it seem inevitable, it might save me some money..

HermanAB
February 23rd, 2009, 11:15 PM
The US banking system is already nationalized. First the mortgage lenders were bought out, now the big banks are 40% gov owned.

bobnutfield
February 23rd, 2009, 11:31 PM
The US banking system is already nationalized. First the mortgage lenders were bought out, now the big banks are 40% gov owned.