PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble partitioning when installing Ubuntu

Shady2175
February 22nd, 2009, 02:46 PM
Hi.. I'm new to Ubuntu.. upon installation, when I get to the partitioning of my drives.. I have no way to delegate GB to XP and to Ubuntu. I don't know how to set my percentages.. as the slider option doesn't show up.. this is on my laptop and desktop both. It shows up that Ubuntu wants to use 100% of space leaving XP with none. I can't figure out how to set my personal preferences as to percentages for each. I am not too good with alot of this computer lingo and don't understand some of it. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling.. to no avail. Can someone please help me? Oh.. and please use baby language as far as computers cuz I'm not a whiz yet.. lol Thanks & Peace Out Shady :KS

Therion
February 22nd, 2009, 02:52 PM
So do you have Windows XP installed already, and now you want to add Ubuntu so you can dual boot both operating systems?

What version of Ubuntu are you trying to install?

Shady2175
February 22nd, 2009, 02:54 PM
ubuntu 8.10 yes XP was already installed on both computers, also yes to dual boot.

kahlil88
February 22nd, 2009, 03:33 PM
Can you access the hard drive from within the Live CD at all? I think your Windows partition is locking you out due to an unclean shutdown. Try booting into Windows, then restart the computer and try the Ubuntu installer again. You should also download the Ubuntu Pocket Guide and Reference (http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/).

Therion
February 22nd, 2009, 03:57 PM
How to Dual Boot Windows XP and Ubuntu (XP Installed First):

http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_windows_xp_and_linux_xp_installed _first.htm

Shady2175
February 22nd, 2009, 06:29 PM