PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to load Ubuntu Live

Javelin360
February 22nd, 2009, 05:31 AM
Greetings from a complete novice trying to install Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex on two different systems. Iím not much of a computer guy. Iíve grown tired of dealing with windows (one of my CNC Machines runs under XP and it gives me fits) and a network engineer I work with suggested I try Ubuntu and sent me version 8.10 on cd.

My intent was to set it up on my old Compaq Presario with a Celeron( R ) CPU 2.66GHZ and 248MB of RAM. The system is running Windows XP Home Edition with SP3. It has an 80G hard drive with a 4 gig partition that allows the system to recover if the C drive fails. It has a DVD RW and a CDR. I changed the bios to boot from the DVD drive so I could try the live version. I inserted the cd in the drive and mistakenly had the 64 bit version loading. It informed me that I couldnít run it. I switched to the 32 bit side and the Ubuntu screen with the moving bar displayed. A language option displayed and I chose English. I then chose the Try Ubuntu without changing the system option but it was down hill from there. After a long string of text the desktop background displayed but no Icons or taskbars displayed. Everything just seemed to hang there and eventually the screen just went blank. I tried to load it half a dozen times but it never loaded and allowed me to explore anything. I did get a login screen once but it would not function. I also tried to just install Ubuntu to no avail.