PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hi all! I'm in need of some help with wireless!

Lorjan
February 21st, 2009, 09:50 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm quite new to Linux, I started using Gutsy almost a year ago and I was doing OK, until I fiddled around with my wireless in the summer. Since then I haven't been able to get it working, no matter what I do, and I decided it was high time I asked for help. I've given it a good go on my own, but with my extremely limited knowledge I'm really struggling! I wish I hadn't left it so long to ask, because various things I have done have made changes - none that have got me online, but things have happened! - and I'm not too sure that I can remember clearly what's what.
I've copied all the suggestions that I've found in forums and I have a page full of notes that make not one bit of sense to me! I'm really hoping some kind person will have a go at figuring out what's wrong. I'll do what I can to help, I'm more than willing to learn!
I am running Gutsy 7.10 on a Siemens AMILO Pi 2515 Notebook, and my wireless router is a BTHomeHub-F418. I'm not sure what else you need to know but I'll do my best give you all the information!
My wireless always worked without a single hitch. As soon as I got the laptop I installed Ubuntu and it all worked perfectly from the start. Then I went on a trip and had to switch between ethernet and wireless a few times. Somewhere around this time the wireless option on network manager disappeared altogether, and was gone for a few days. I did a lot of fiddling over that time but nothing seemed to do any good, then suddenly it was back. It didn't seem like it came back because of anything I had done, but I really don't know. Unfortunately, I couldn't connect to the internet, and haven't since. I have recieved various error messages, the nature of which have changed over time, presumably due to other settings I may have changed. Sorry, I know that's unhelpful!