PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A "dock" and Gnome Panel combined? Eye candy issue.

BastardNamban
February 21st, 2009, 03:38 PM
I've been using linux for several months now, no major problems, but some things are still irking me. I'd like to walk into an installfest somewhere, and I could fix everything that bugs me in an evening talking in real time with someone, showing them what I don't get, but I live overseas. So here goes.

I started with Gnome panel, obviously, but transparancy settings leaving text unreadable pissed me off. I learned that I could set text color, but it wasn't easy on the fly, and a pain. Also, I couldn't figure out if there were themed icons for it, so I decided to start trying different "docks", as I hate my desktop being obscured by a panel.

I tried AWN dock. I liked it, but had too many little issues over available applets, and things randomly disapearing/sliding, etc. So I got sick of it, and now I have Cairo dock.

Cairo dock is nice because I can make that stupid bar transparent- so only icons. It's very configurable, but here's the kicker- icon placement is a nightmare! I can't just drag and drop them into the order I want- I have to fool with a completely unintelligeble number positioning system for icon placement, that doesn't work well even when I change values.

I know of Kiba dock, Wbar, Simdock, and a couple others.

What I want to know is- are there any docks that integrate the Gnome panel window list for minimized windows, but only show launchers/applets like Cairo dock with NO BAR?

Imagine Cairo dock, with SIMPLE drag-&-drop for switching icon order, but expanding horizontally for little rectangular bubbles with dynamic text color balancing that stay there for minimized windows. Even those boxes are totally transparent, except for their faint outline and text- nothing to obscure my desktop or other windows. Give it all a master text color adjustment option, and we're set.