PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Create shortcuts to desktop

tristancarrington
February 21st, 2009, 01:16 PM
Can anybody help as I am very new to linux it took me two months to get the vodafone dongle to work. I have downloaded skype onto my aspire one. However I dont know how to get onto my desktop so that I just click on it. What I do at the moment is go to search make sure that it is on desktop put in skype and then search I then scroll down to the last program line and click on that to get it to work. If anybody can help please but please remember I am very new to Linux.

Thanks I HAVE TO ADD THAT THE NETBOOK I HAVE IS AN ACER ONE ABUNTU

Bendihossan
February 21st, 2009, 01:53 PM
Can anybody help as I am very new to linux it took me two months to get the vodafone dongle to work. I have downloaded skype onto my aspire one. However I dont know how to get onto my desktop so that I just click on it. What I do at the moment is go to search make sure that it is on desktop put in skype and then search I then scroll down to the last program line and click on that to get it to work. If anybody can help please but please remember I am very new to Linux.

Thanks

Not quite sure what you're asking here mate...do you just want to create a shortcut for Skype on your desktop?

If so, simply right click on your desktop and select "Create Launcher" from the drop down list. In the dialog that appears enter "Skype" for name and "skype" for command. Make sure "skype" in the Command textbox is lower case as Linux systems are case-sensitive.

Hope that helps!

tristancarrington
February 21st, 2009, 02:13 PM
Hi yes that is what I am after but tried right click on desk top but nothing happens am I being thick the desk top I look at is split into four sections connections work fun and files if I right click on any of them it doesnt do a thing sorry very new to this

tristancarrington
February 21st, 2009, 02:27 PM
I am using also Mozilla firefox if that helps

Bendihossan