PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.10 v 8.04

nachos99
February 21st, 2009, 07:29 AM
im new to ubuntu and have just downloaded 8.10 with plans to install dual boot with xp on my desktop in a week or so. in the mean time, ive been trying to learn about ubuntu, etc.

ive come across various posts where people say noobs should install 8.04 over 8.10 due to stability or better driver/hardware compatibility and the like.

so now ive started downloading 8.04....

and then i read some complaining that when they run update manager on 8.04, they dont see the latest software updates and thus cant rely on the repositories and needing to go look for updates directly from software sources.

any recommendations on which one should i install?

novafluxx
February 21st, 2009, 07:42 AM
It really depends on what your using the system for. What will you be doing on the system?

8.10 is a stable release, 8.04.2 is the latest update to 8.04.

If you're just trying to learn Linux for the first time, I'd recommend using 8.10 as its the latest and has the most up-to-date software in its repositories.

Nearly everything you will need/use/want is in the repos for 8.04.2 and 8.10!

8.04.2 won't have the latest and greatest, because its a stable long term support release. No major updates or changes will occur, besides the incrimental 8.04.x updates, and of course you'll always see the latest security updates

4Orbs
February 21st, 2009, 07:50 AM
If you install 8.04 you'll learn how things work correctly out of the box. Just follow the tutorials on the forum to get it set up peachy-keen.

If you install 8.10 you'll be forced to learn alternate ways of getting your graphics driver working (maybe), and it's a good lesson. I prefer 8.10 to 8.04 even though I currently have to use the nVidia beta driver for my card. My mobile broadband was working immediately, also. But 8.04 is good and solid. Either one will probably make you smile.