PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Virtual Machine help

Stavro
February 20th, 2009, 09:52 PM
Hi All,

I’m very interested in acquiring a new computer soon without Windows installed because after a lot of experience with Vista on other peoples computers I don’t really want it.

I would like to try Ubuntu as my main OS, I’ve tried it before and liked it and so will either get the shop to install it or do this myself, however, there are a couple of Windows specifics applications that I cannot do without. I’m a musician and have a notation package that I really like plus a software synthesizer to go with it, I also am a keen computer chess enthusiast and will want to continue using my chess packages. Both the musical and chess software are quite expensive and so I won’t drop them just yet.

Therefore, I would like to run Windows in a virtual machine, I own a full copy of Windows ME which I’m actually happy with and it runs my packages flawlessly. I don’t want to dual boot, I really want to do without the hassle of shutting down one and going into another. I think Windows ME should be fairly easy to run in a virtual machine, though I’m not an expert and this is what I would like to ask about.

How easy is this to setup? I know how to install Ubuntu, I just want Windows ME in a virtual machine. Does anyone know how much success I’m likely to get regarding sound, USB etcetera in the virtual machine? If it helps, the computer is built with with linux in mind, so everything works out the box on that front.

Any help is most appreciated. I want something simple and reliable. Finally, the processor is 64-bit, will this be a problem?

howefield
February 20th, 2009, 09:57 PM
Couldn't be easier !!