PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Almost Solved The Headache of Getting Ubuntu on an inspiron

OnkelTom
February 20th, 2009, 10:08 AM
Hi everybody!

I've just signed up to the forums, as (suprise suprise) I need a bit advice from some experienced Linux users as this is my first time round.

Well basically, after having Vista break everything I decided "im not buying that again!" . So anyways, I've "rebuilt" my inspiron 1720 with some nice hardwear and set about getting OS's on.

First off, vista did go on (for some programmes for Uni that may not work!) onto a relativley small partition. Then came getting UBUNTU to work.

Now there was all sorts of problems but i sorted it out by searching these boards! Thanks! But there Is one last problem holding me back from getting at Ubuntu! (Except perhaps for sorting the wireless out once i get on it xD)

Anyway, in the end it turns out I can install Ubuntu without crashes only by booting from the 8.10 Alternative CD IS0 on a USB flash stick thingy. That goes through fine then I get "install Grub bootloader etc" so I click "yea ok".

But the problem is this. On start up, i get the choice between Vista and Ubuntu. Looks promising, but it isn't. Clicking on ubuntu brins up the "splash screen". It turns out its looking for the LiveCD to install it or play the demo! Madness!

I think this is because in one of my earlier attempts at getting it on, through the (non-alternative) live CD, it wouldnt read off the CD properley, so i went into windows, ran the CD then clicked the option "Help me boot from CD".

So all in all, i belive the ubuntu option is actually telling the PC to look for the live cd, not the ubuntu installed on the HD.