PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot boot ubuntu

jkimball
February 20th, 2009, 06:33 AM
Hi,

I've been scanning the forums for some time now and haven't come across a similar problem to mine.

I have installed a dual boot system with the first OS being Windows XP (existed) and the second being ubuntu.

Every time I try to run ubuntu from the CD, or install it, my computer will restart right after the loading screen reaches 100% (the screen with just the ubuntu logo and the progress bar). I've tried two discs with two fresh installs and neither worked.

I've successfully installed ubuntu using the text-based installation (8.10-alternate) and it processed all the way. I still get the same problem when I try to boot. I CAN get to the command prompt though using the recovery mode boot from the grub.

I'm not sure where to go from here. Something with the xorg.conf file maybe? (not sure how to open/edit it with out graphics display - I'm new to linux :D ).

--Computer Specs--
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800gt
RAM: 2g
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron 170 (~2.8GHz)
Ubuntu Partition space: 10.2gb

Thanks for all of your input/advice!

p.s. I'm going to bed now so I won't be tending to this post for another 9 hours.

staf0048
February 20th, 2009, 06:49 AM
It sounds to me your graphics card is causing the problems and it may very well be fixed by changing the Xorg.conf file, but that is becoming less and less common.

So, if I were you I'd check to see if anyone else with the exact same graphics card has posted information on their Xorg.conf file configuration in either these forums or on the net.

If you find something, print it out and boot your computer into the command prompt and type

Code:
sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

The file should open in the command line and you can arrow through the document to find what information needs to be changed. Use Ctrl-x to save and exit. Then try rebooting and see if it works.

jkimball
February 20th, 2009, 03:03 PM