PDA

View Full Version : CPU recomendations



markp1989
February 19th, 2009, 09:20 PM
i may need to get a new cpu, and im looking for recomendations.

socket lga755
dual core

not sure what speed i want, but i would like to spend under 100

i want to know what modles have the best performance : price ratio

thanks markp1989

era86
February 19th, 2009, 09:28 PM
Are you looking to OC? I have my E5200 PDC from 2.5 to 3.7 stable. Cost me $80.

markp1989
February 19th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Are you looking to OC? I have my E5200 PDC from 2.5 to 3.7 stable. Cost me $80.

notplaning to oc, like the look of that cpu, i can get it for about 50, so fits the price, and 2.5ghz dual souds alright.

what do other people think of this cpu?

http://www.overclock.co.uk/product/Intel-Pentium-Dual-Core-E5300-2.50GHz-%27Wolfdale%27-2_8484.html anyone used this site before?

also on ebuyer, with free shiping

markp1989
February 21st, 2009, 04:44 PM
just ordered that cpu

got a new computer for about 160


cpu: E5200 49+VAT
HSF: OCZ Vanquisher CPU Cooler Skt 20
motherboard: Asus P5KPL-AM iG31 33 + VAT
Ram: 4gb pc2-6400 (2*2gb) : 25
PSU: 480W XPower Light ATX PSU : 25

keeping the original case, and HDDs

now im looking for a graphics card PCIE prefebaly nvidia, i dont play games, i just want it to be able to support DUAL screens, any budgit GPUs recomended?

Skripka
February 21st, 2009, 04:49 PM
just ordered that cpu

got a new computer for about 150


cpu: E5200 49+VAT
motherboard: Asus P5KPL-AM iG31 33 + VAT
Ram: 4gb pc2-6400 (2*2gb) : 25
PSU: 480W XPower Light ATX PSU : 25

keeping the original case, and HDDs

now im looking for a graphics card PCIE prefebaly nvidia, i dont play games, i just want it to be able to support DUAL screens, any budgit GPUs recomended?

A sub-500W PSU means you'll be looking at the lower 9000 series Nvidia or the 8000.

Most current generation cards, Nvidia or ATi, require 2 6-pin PCIe power inputs to drive them (or 1-6pin, and 1-8pin on higher end)...and a rating of at least 500W, for system stability.

FYI-I'm driving my GTX on a 500W PSU, and it runs well running 1 monitor at 1680X1050...but when I built this box, I didn't have a GTX in mind.

markp1989
February 21st, 2009, 05:11 PM
A sub-500W PSU means you'll be looking at the lower 9000 series Nvidia or the 8000.

Most current generation cards, Nvidia or ATi, require 2 6-pin PCIe power inputs to drive them (or 1-6pin, and 1-8pin on higher end)...and a rating of at least 500W, for system stability.

FYI-I'm driving my GTX on a 500W PSU, and it runs well running 1 monitor at 1680X1050...but when I built this box, I didn't have a GTX in mind.

I understand that some of the high end graphics cards will need a heavy power supply, but all i want mine for to to drive to displays at 1440x900, no compiz, or games.

whats the Geforce 7300 512mb like?

i can get one for 21 including shiping

mips
February 21st, 2009, 05:14 PM
A sub-500W PSU means you'll be looking at the lower 9000 series Nvidia or the 8000.

Most current generation cards, Nvidia or ATi, require 2 6-pin PCIe power inputs to drive them (or 1-6pin, and 1-8pin on higher end)...and a rating of at least 500W, for system stability.


Running a 9600GT on a 450W PSU with 2x DVD burners, 3xHard drives, no problems.

Skripka
February 21st, 2009, 05:18 PM
I understand that some of the high end graphics cards will need a heavy power supply, but all i want mine for to to drive to displays at 1440x900, no compiz, or games.

whats the Geforce 7300 512mb like?

i can get one for 21 including shiping

Last card I had in this box was an ASUS built Nvidia 8600GT 256MB, pulled power straight off the motherboard PCI slot. Sucker cost ~$70USD a year ago or so. The catch with using older less nuclear-reactor-power-hungry-Nvidias, is that Nvidias legacy support in their drivers by all accounts, gets lower and lower every year.

Skripka
February 21st, 2009, 05:19 PM
Running a 9600GT on a 450W PSU with 2x DVD burners, 3xHard drives, no problems.

My, adventurous are we? ;)

I presume that's an 80%+ PSU?

mips
February 21st, 2009, 05:56 PM
I presume that's an 80%+ PSU?

Peak output is rated at 550W while continous power is rated at 450W, 82%
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/display/atx-psu9_5.html#sect0

Not the best out there but I needed one as in 'now' so this was the best at that moment in time.

Skripka
February 21st, 2009, 06:00 PM
Peak output is rated at 550W while continous power is rated at 450W, 82%
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/display/atx-psu9_5.html#sect0

Not the best out there but I needed one as in 'now' so this was the best at that moment in time.

I always make it a habit of assuming when someone posts a wattage figure that they mean peak, not sustained...it is often a safe assumption, but we'll see here....

mips
February 21st, 2009, 06:09 PM
I always make it a habit of assuming when someone posts a wattage figure that they mean peak, not sustained...it is often a safe assumption, but we'll see here....

Agreed, I would assume the same. Comming from an Elec. Eng. background I never quote peak values.

I hate advertising. Stuff like PMPO etc is the biggest load of BS out there. I'm in the habit of asking sales people what the power output of an amp is and they say something like 400W for example. I then point them to the back of the amp where is says the consumption is only 200W for example. I then ask the rep how one gets 400W from 200W as you are basically genrating 200W of free energy. If this was possible I would be a billionaire by now. They however still don't get it :)

The ratings on my NAD amps I do however believe.

era86
February 22nd, 2009, 01:19 AM
Im OCing mmy e5200 with a CD/DVD burner, quadro fx3400, and 5.1 ch sound card all with a silverstone st400 400w. No problems here.

markp1989
February 22nd, 2009, 04:46 PM
Im OCing mmy e5200 with a CD/DVD burner, quadro fx3400, and 5.1 ch sound card all with a silverstone st400 400w. No problems here.

What sort of OC have you got on yours, i have been looking on Ocforums, and aparently it is an easy overclock. so im thinking of doing it my self.

its going to be replacing a 3.2ghz celeron D , so il prob aim for atleast 3.2 (based on what i have read it shouldnt be to hard).

are there any OC test software that you would recomend for ubuntu or arch?

era86
February 23rd, 2009, 06:30 AM
What sort of OC have you got on yours, i have been looking on Ocforums, and aparently it is an easy overclock. so im thinking of doing it my self.

its going to be replacing a 3.2ghz celeron D , so il prob aim for atleast 3.2 (based on what i have read it shouldnt be to hard).

are there any OC test software that you would recomend for ubuntu or arch?

Sorry. I did all my OC testing in Windows, but im sure there are plenty of tools out there. My Mobo has good OC options too, so I did alot of it in there. Got mine to 3.7 stable with artic cooler pro.

markp1989
March 4th, 2009, 09:22 PM
Sorry. I did all my OC testing in Windows, but im sure there are plenty of tools out there. My Mobo has good OC options too, so I did alot of it in there. Got mine to 3.7 stable with artic cooler pro.

I have the cpu mentiond, and i am pleased, im currently running it at 3.3ghz stock vcore. i trieed 3.5 but was unstable, i could probably stablise it if i up the vore abit, but im happy with 3.3 for now :D

izizzle
April 25th, 2009, 09:35 PM
E5400 (http://ark.intel.com/cpu.aspx?groupId=40478)