PDA

View Full Version : Overused OOP and patterns

spupy
February 17th, 2009, 08:29 PM
Recently I started learning Python. Now I've decided to explore the OOP side of python, and I'm really stumped. Maybe I'm thinking in java (damn you, Bruce Eckel! :)). PLEASE NOTE, this isn't a java-vs-python discussion, but a talk about some things that the different ideas of python brought to my attention. Two examples:
1. Static variables (a.k.a global variables). At first I didn't find a simple way to declase static variables and methods in python. I googled a bit and people say that global variables aren't great, and that programmers shouldn't use them that much.
2. The Singleton-Pattern. Or is it an antipattern?
Python made me realize that some techniques I've been using for so long may not always be the best solution for a problem.

TL;DR : Discuss OOP ideas and design patterns that are frequently used, but shouldn't be.

Can+~
February 17th, 2009, 08:36 PM
1. Static variables (a.k.a global variables). At first I didn't find a simple way to declase static variables and methods in python. I googled a bit and people say that global variables aren't great, and that programmers shouldn't use them that much.

Global variables are never a good idea, only on small snippets of code. Why? Because you start losing control of data, by leaving a variable open for being written over it. Later, when your program gets bigger, functions that depend on said global will start getting random results, as another function may be messing with the contained value.

In other words, it's a long-term pain in the butt.

CptPicard
February 17th, 2009, 08:59 PM
2. The Singleton-Pattern. Or is it an antipattern?

First of all, there are "class" (static) variables... they exist in Python all right.