PDA

View Full Version : [kde] Dual Install of KDE 3.5 and KDE 4.x

AeroNautica0909
February 17th, 2009, 04:31 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu but have been using it for three months now. Since I made the switch from Windows Vista, I have vowed to myself I will never go back to Windows. So far, I'm holding true to my promise.

Anyway, I'm using GNOME 2.24 on Ubuntu Intrepid. I installed KDE 3.5.10 on my Intrepid installation from the Pearson Computing Repository. However, I am not entirely a fan of the KDE 4.x series so far but I want to know is it possible to have all three desktop environments installed- GNOME 2.24, KDE 3.5.10 and KDE 4.x installed simultaneously?

Thanks!

Gen2ly
February 17th, 2009, 04:35 AM
I don't think in Ubuntu its possible, at least I've never heard of it. The only distro I've heard of that's able to do this is Gentoo that makes use of slotting to be able to do this.

AeroNautica0909
February 18th, 2009, 10:40 PM
Thanks for the information! I decided to remove KDE 3.5.10 and install KDE 4.2. I'm warming up to it. Thanks for the help!

maybeway36
February 18th, 2009, 11:03 PM
I think it is possible in Ubuntu. The guy who runs the KDE3 repo takes care to rename to avoid conflicts.

AeroNautica0909
April 3rd, 2009, 03:16 AM
You're absolutely right. I was able to install KDE 3.5 and KDE 4.2 by installing the KDE 4.2 Nightly Neon repository. That allowed me to have GNOME, Xfce, and both versions of KDE simultaneously installed. This way I can switch whenever I have that urge.

I suppose I'll have some issues when I decide to upgrade to Jaunty when it comes out... but I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

zevans
April 3rd, 2009, 12:49 PM
I suppose I'll have some issues when I decide to upgrade to Jaunty when it comes out... but I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

You should be fine - I've done it.