PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install and dual boot help

mavrick70004
February 16th, 2009, 11:03 PM
SO i am totally new to Linux and wanted to do a dual boot with my windows xp. i have windows xp on a Sata drive and i wanted to put linux on a second hd i had lying around which is a 20Gb Ide. Everything works fine in Windows so i know there is nothing wrong with my drives. so i put in the cd during windows and chose the option "Demo and full installation". after restart nothing happened and it booted right into windows, i then got a message about how ubuntu will change something in my boot menu so i accepted and rebooted again this time i had a choice of Windows xp or Ubuntu, i chose ubuntu and installed it on the 20gb ide Hard Drive and everything seemed to go ok until i rebooted, the ubuntu boot menu would try to start up but i would get a error 21 and then nothing i tired switching all the stuff in the bios and still nothing. so this time i tried removing the Xp Hard drive and installing with the CD but the computer will not recognize the ubuntu CD that is in the drive and i just get a drive boot failure, but my windows xp cd will boot up just fine can someone tell me what im doing wrong?

mikewhatever
February 16th, 2009, 11:43 PM
The most common problem with cds not booting is that people burn the iso as data or create a bootable cd. Please review the guide below and make sure you've burnt it correctly.
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/BurningIsoHowto

caljohnsmith
February 17th, 2009, 12:33 AM