PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Help! My Kubuntu Freezes 30 sec after start up!!

SMG_07
February 15th, 2009, 05:35 AM
Hi guys

im a new dude at the ubuntu community .. i tried ubuntu 4 a while and then tried kubuntu and i loved it ... Err ... actually i didn't even have the chance 2 try it for more that 5 min's.. i started playing around with themes and logins screens and widgets (downloaded new stuff from kde-look.org)... and then restarted w/new login screen and it starts for like 30 seconds until a thing called Kwava.kss starts ..then it freezes every thing except the mouse ... i dont have a clue what 2 do ... the only things working are the movement the mouse and the turn off button it shut down normally when i press it No force shut downs or anything like that.

my Kubuntu is 8.10
my laptop is asus m70sa
2.50 core 2 due
4.00 GB ram
ATI RADEON HD 3650 1GB
dual boot W/windows vista
32Bit system

Plz help me i wanna use kubuntu as my only OS but how can i do that when problems keep happening :confused:

Lord Landis
February 15th, 2009, 04:30 PM
Did you change anything other than the login screen? Were you editing any config files? From what I can tell, Kwava.kss is a screen-saver file (most of what Google returns when searching for 'KDE .kss' refers to screen-savers, so this is my best guess), so the odds are very good that you either have a corrupt file specified for the screen-saver, or your install doesn't like that particular one.

I've seen the same sort of breakage when changing mouse themes (yes, I know it sounds weird, but it happened to me - I changed to a different mouse theme, and X broke).

Honestly though, since you've just performed the install, it might be easier to do a clean re-install than to try to repair the system.

SMG_07
February 15th, 2009, 09:41 PM
yes i thought about that .kss is a screen saver cos it freezes when the kwava.kss and the window box shows a black and white 3D image trying to start or something like that ...:confused: