PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble understanding a workaround...

cosmicappuccino
February 14th, 2009, 12:47 AM
I have a new installation of Intrepid Ibex on an HP Pavilion that's about 5 years old. I haven't gotten to use it all: as soon as I log in, I get stuck on a beige screen, with a responsive arrow cursor, and nothing else.

I think someone has found a workaround for my problem, and I'm not the only one it's happened to. However, being a newbie, I don't understand what to do to implement the workaround! If anyone could step me through this I'd really appreciate it.

I've copied the main part of the workaround here:

My temporary workaround:
"Alt-Ctrl-F2" , "Login" by Textmode. "sudo rm /tmp/.X0-lock" , "startx" then it starts up OK, after that i "Enabled Automatic Login", under "System-->Administration-->Login Window".
My comuptor: Dell Latitude D520
(Also tried xserver-xgl)

...but if you want to view the whole thread, it's here: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gdm/+bug/221850
(...and here's another related thread: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-keyring/+bug/218434)

Thanks a lot for reading this!

spcwingo
February 14th, 2009, 01:00 AM
It just means that when you boot and see the blank screen with only the cursor press CTRL+ALT+F2 at the same time. This will exit X (the graphical side of Ubuntu). You will then be asked to login via the text interface. You will be able to see only your user name while typing, but not your password. This is normal. Then type the commands in like so:

sudo rm /tmp/.X0-lock(in .X0-lock it's a zero and not a capital "O")

and then:

startx

This should now bring up your desktop. From there go to system>administration>login window select the security tab and tick the checkbox beside "Enable Automatic Login". Under "User" select your username from the drop-down. Hopefully this sheds some light on your problem.

cosmicappuccino
February 14th, 2009, 12:16 PM