PDA

View Full Version : Scheme on Ubuntu

igneousquill
February 13th, 2009, 07:16 PM
I'm new to programming and have been working mostly on learning Python to start. A couple of developers at work suggested I look into scheme, but I can't get it installed on Ubuntu 8.10. It attempts to install, but then fails. Is this a known issue? Is there some way I can get this going? I'd like to use the MIT manual on this as a guide, but without scheme installed....

Simian Man
February 13th, 2009, 07:18 PM
The thing about Scheme is there are many different implementations. I like guile the best, but mzscheme and MIT scheme are popular too. Which are you trying to install?

igneousquill
February 13th, 2009, 07:32 PM
The thing about Scheme is there are many different implementations. I like guile the best, but mzscheme and MIT scheme are popular too. Which are you trying to install?

mit-scheme

Simian Man
February 13th, 2009, 07:38 PM
Are you installing it from the package manager or from source? In either event what errors are you getting?

igneousquill
February 13th, 2009, 07:44 PM
I've tried both. I'm at my work computer now (a mac) so I'll have to post the error when I get a chance this evening.

Thanks.

jimi_hendrix
February 13th, 2009, 08:54 PM
check the stickies, this is a known issue

i use mzscheme without a problem though

igneousquill
February 13th, 2009, 08:57 PM
check the stickies, this is a known issue

i use mzscheme without a problem though

I'm doing fairly well with Python, so there may not be any point in pursuing this. It just annoys me that I can't use it, and I was hoping for a work-around.

Thanks.

Simian Man
February 13th, 2009, 09:07 PM
If you are new to Scheme, why worry about MIT Scheme? The language is the same, so you could at least start learning with another implementation. guile and mzscheme are both good. There is also PLT Scheme which includes a nice gui environment.

igneousquill
February 13th, 2009, 09:11 PM