PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Might as well do a clean install

xtalgrwr
February 12th, 2009, 10:07 PM
Hello,
I'm a newbie. I made a few mistakes and long story short might as well do a clean install. No problem. I downloaded the UBCD and the System Rescue CD but I haven't found my way to solving it.
Seagates SW comes with windows options only!?! fdisk wants to do a FAT format.
I would like to reformat to a linux format and install ubuntu and forget windows XP. It was corrupted and I don't have the distro CD. So might as well leave it just linux.
I bought linux magazine with the DVD but the articles don't cover detail of my royal mess ups.
It ran beautifully from the live CD.
Any good ideas where I can download the right s/w to reformat to linux? I want the whole drive for linux 160MB.

Fenris_rising
February 12th, 2009, 10:15 PM
Hi there

If your using a live CD then you should find, when its up and running, an install icon on the desktop. Once you start the process you will answer a series of questions and along the way you will see a page to do with formatting and partition sizing. You should see a 'use the entire drive' option. hope that helps.

regards

Fenris

xtalgrwr
February 12th, 2009, 10:26 PM
Fenris,

Thank you for that quick reply.

And, yes I got that right the last time. And so I am all happy and giddy and reboot and it comes back with no OS?!

It is in there but probably not in the right spot. I got it to boot with the system rescue CD but it won't do it all on its own.

Maybe grub? MBR? I'm not sure anymore. That is why I thought of just doing it all clean again.

Thnx.

Gramps
February 13th, 2009, 12:18 AM
Might be some problem with the CD that was with the magazine. Try downloading this iso image and burn it to a Cd then try doing a fresh install again and see what the results are.

Download URL: http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/ubuntu-releases/intrepid/ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386.iso
Ubuntu Edition: Ubuntu 8.10 desktop
Computer Platform: i386