PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 3.5G hsdpa usb modem problem



shamsul
February 12th, 2009, 02:56 AM
Hi all. I'm new in this linux world. And i have a problem with my usb modem.
I cannot work with, because the system see this usb as a mass storage. So i cannot access my internet network. How to solve this? How to get vendor id and product id for this hardware? I hope anyone can help me. So i can work with ubuntu.

ieee488
February 12th, 2009, 04:31 AM
model?

azwar
February 12th, 2009, 04:40 AM
You can try

sudo lsusb
then the result should be like this


azwar@azwar-laptop:~$ lsusb
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 5986:0100 Bison Acer OrbiCam
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 12d1:1003 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E220 HSDPA Modem
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
azwar@azwar-laptop:~$

It show my HSDPA Modem together with vendor id and product id. What Ubuntu version do you use? I thought that Intrepid may auto-detected your usb modem.

shamsul
February 12th, 2009, 08:41 AM
I'm using a model named CSL.

azwar
February 13th, 2009, 07:50 AM
I'm using a model named CSL.

Hi Shamsul,

Go to Application -> Accessories -> Terminal. Then type this code


sudo lsusb

Then you paste the output here.

shamsul
February 13th, 2009, 08:01 AM
This is the output when I run the lsusb:


shamsul@shamsul-laptop:~$ lsusb
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 1c9e:1001
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 003: ID 03eb:0902 Atmel Corp.
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 15d9:0a37
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

azwar
February 13th, 2009, 12:00 PM
From the output, I think the USB Modem are detected at


Bus 005 Device 003: ID 03eb:0902 Atmel Corp.

Then type in this code in terminal

sudo modprobe usbserial vendor=0x03eb product=0x0902

Then install Gnome PPP

sudo apt-get install gnome-ppp

On gnome ppp, click setup and set like this. Then configure your phone no, username, password and connect

azwar
February 14th, 2009, 04:39 AM
Hi Shamsul,

Is the step I give you work. If not just don't give up. Keep on posting on any error massages. There's a lot of people in this forum who are willing help you.

Anyway, what ubuntu version do you use. I think INTREPID will auto-detected your 3.5G usb modem

shamsul
February 15th, 2009, 02:30 AM
Hi, Azwar.

I'm trying to follow your step by doing the sudo modprobe and installing gnome ppp. When i run gnome ppp and i click to the "detect" button, the popup said, "No modem was found on your system". So... what else. I don't know how. What brand is good and easy to setup with linux? I'm using CSL.

solitaire
February 15th, 2009, 02:39 AM
Hi

Just a quick question. when you plug in the USB dongle left click on the "network" icon next to the time.
what entries can you see there?

I've a similar dongle (from 3 Mobile UK) and it's automatically detected and puts a connection button when i click on the "Network icon".

azwar
February 15th, 2009, 04:59 AM
Hi, Azwar.

I'm trying to follow your step by doing the sudo modprobe and installing gnome ppp. When i run gnome ppp and i click to the "detect" button, the popup said, "No modem was found on your system". So... what else. I don't know how. What brand is good and easy to setup with linux? I'm using CSL.

Hi Shamsul,

I think you should edit the configuration, like my attachment before. You should manually change the modem at /dev/tty/USB0.


Hi

Just a quick question. when you plug in the USB dongle left click on the "network" icon next to the time.
what entries can you see there?

I've a similar dongle (from 3 Mobile UK) and it's automatically detected and puts a connection button when i click on the "Network icon".


He said at the 1st posting, his USB modem was detected as USB mass storage.

shamsul
February 15th, 2009, 08:02 AM
Hi... azwar

I dont know what is the problem with my usb modem, but when I plug in the Huawei usb modem it's automatically detected.

solitaire
February 15th, 2009, 11:42 PM
quick question, do you have a microSD card in the Huawei?

shamsul
February 16th, 2009, 08:27 AM
I'm sorry, i dont know about microSD card in the Huawei.

pnqiu
August 16th, 2009, 08:55 AM
so, any solution for this?i also got the same modem

inder_kumar
August 16th, 2009, 09:10 AM
Hi shamsul

U say ur modem is not getting recognised but I think when u run lsusb it shows some modem at usb is attached. Have u been able to properly configure ur modem. Are u able to ping ur modem with its IP.

pnqiu
August 17th, 2009, 04:02 PM
i tried the same method but failed..


hyundai@hyundai-laptop:~$ sudo lsusb
[sudo] password for hyundai:
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 2020:f00e
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
hyundai@hyundai-laptop:~$ sudo modprobe usbserial vendor=0x2020 product=0xf00e
FATAL: Module usbserial not found.


im on ubuntu 9.04

GeorgeVita
August 17th, 2009, 08:01 PM
Hi pnqiu,
in your case you have Ubuntu 9.04 initial version which has the usbserial encapsulated into kernel. Later updated version of kernel has usbserial as an external driver. I do not know if this is the only problem with your modem, but you can pass the usbserial problem with one of two options:
a. update your 9.04 using ethernet/wifi and try again 'sudo modprobe usbserial ...'
b. edit grub (boot loader) to handle the usbserial, try to connect and update later

For b read: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=7691132&postcount=2

You have to 'extend' the line with all parameters ending to '...quiet splash'
and make it '...quiet splash usbserial.vendor=0x2020 usbserial.product=0xf00e'


Regards,
George

pnqiu
August 18th, 2009, 05:17 PM
thnx george,
i did as what u told but still didnt work out.

i cannot update as still cant connect to the net.

GeorgeVita
August 18th, 2009, 06:14 PM
Hi pnqiu, can you give more info about your modem?

manufacturer, model, provider etc (look at the sticker, bottom side)

Also test lsusb before and 15 seconds after attaching the modem to determine the actual vendorID and productID.

Regards,
George

pnqiu
August 19th, 2009, 03:45 PM
my modem is CSL U2-TF..same model as the thread starter..
after a couple of trial and error..i believe my laptop detected the modem

hyundai@hyundai-laptop:~$ lsusb
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 2020:f00e
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
hyundai@hyundai-laptop:~$ ls -la /dev/ttyU*
crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 188, 0 2009-08-19 22:23 /dev/ttyUSB0


but the problem is, i cannot connect to the net because my isp doesnt require login name and password. at first i used wvdial


hyundai@hyundai-laptop:~$ wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATE0V1
ATE0V1
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid phone number.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid login name.
--> Configuration does not specify a valid password.


then gnome-ppp

hyundai@hyundai-laptop:~$ gnome-ppp
WVCONF: /home/hyundai/.wvdial.conf
GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Editing `/dev/null'.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: WvModem<*1>: Cannot set information for serial port.
GNOME PPP: STDOUT:
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Scanning your serial ports for a modem.
GNOME PPP: STDOUT:
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 115200 baud
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: Modem Port Scan<*1>: S1 S2 S3
GNOME PPP: STDERR: WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- SmartLink Soft Modem
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 4800: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 19200: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 38400: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 57600: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 115200: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 230400: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Speed 460800: AT -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: Max speed is 460800; that should be safe.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 9600 baud
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
GNOME PPP: STDOUT:
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ttySL0<Info>: Speed 460800; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0"
GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Found a modem on /dev/ttySL0.
GNOME PPP: STDOUT: Modem configuration written to /dev/null.
GNOME PPP: Connecting...
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> Ignoring malformed input line: ";Do NOT edit this file by hand!"
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> Cannot get information for serial port.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> Initializing modem.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> Sending: ATZ
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ATZ
GNOME PPP: STDERR: OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
GNOME PPP: STDERR: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
GNOME PPP: STDERR: OK
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> Modem initialized.
GNOME PPP: STDERR: --> Please enter password (or empty password to stop):
GNOME PPP: STDERR: Caught signal 2: Attempting to exit gracefully...

GeorgeVita
August 19th, 2009, 03:55 PM
Hi, again. Please try a better /etc/wvdial.conf

sudo gedit /etc/wvdial.conf

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB0
Modem Type = Analog Modem
ISDN = 0
Baud = 460800
Dial Attempts = 1
Username = user
Password = pass
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
Phone = *99***1#
Stupid Mode = 1

You have to check APN ("internet" above). I think that any username/password may work. Ask your provider post here info to check.

To connect: sudo wvdial

Your SIM PIN check must be removed.

Regards,
George

mydiamond
September 22nd, 2009, 03:33 PM
Hi, again. Please try a better /etc/wvdial.conf

sudo gedit /etc/wvdial.conf
[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB0
Modem Type = Analog Modem
ISDN = 0
Baud = 460800
Dial Attempts = 1
Username = user
Password = pass
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
Phone = *99***1#
Stupid Mode = 1You have to check APN ("internet" above). I think that any username/password may work. Ask your provider post here info to check.

To connect: sudo wvdial

Your SIM PIN check must be removed.

Regards,
George


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i also face the same problem....
tried various way already....but still the modem still cannot work

modem= CSL 3.5G modem.....with microSD card slot....

1st method(failed)=wvdial as shared in this forum

2nd method(failed)=gnome ppp, from tis forum too

3rd method(failed)=

Hi
To solve this in ubuntu 904 I found the following work around:

in a terminal type the following
sudo nautilus (This will bring up the admin file manger)

the go to file system / boot /grub
under grub you will find "menu.lst" (I advise that you make a copy of
this file ;- to do this just copy and past it in the same directory)
then open this file and add the line "usbserial vendor=0x12d1
product=0x1411" to the end of the line that looks like the following
"kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.28-11-generic
root=UUID=7a427095-4b6f-4d3c-a486-65d5b6d27491 ro xforcevesa quiet
splash" and reboot

this will active the usb device at boot up (you might have to unplug the
modem once ubuntu has started ) once you have rebooted ubuntu should
pick up your modem under the network connection and you will be able to
set it there

Sould you have any problems please mail me and I will gladly help you

Kind Regards
Frans Gabriel
TEL 073 861 4383
HOME 011 021 2011
E-Mail <email address hidden>


************************************************** ************************************************** ******

lsusb result(with USB modem only) =

ming@ming-laptop:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 1c9e:f000
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

Anyone can provide solution to solve this problem.....

GeorgeVita
September 22nd, 2009, 07:14 PM
...Anyone can provide solution to solve this problem...
Hi mydiamond, searching ubuntuforums we can find a lot of threads trying to connect a 3G modem (some of them succeeded, some other no). I searched and did not find a 'solution', so I am posting some ideas and notes.

Some 3G modems respond by default as an autorun virtual CD drive (ZeroCD) and need a 'switch' to the actual modem using various methods as 'ejecting ZeroCD', use of usb_modeswitch program, or newer 'udev-extras'. Each method has advantages and problems, requiring more or less user knowledge. More 'problems' occur when the modem is a new product and there are few users to try/use it with Ubuntu.

The typical but long way is to report a bug and help developers to fix it. Other way is to get ideas from other users and try them. More at: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/NetworkManager/Hardware/3G

From my point of view the following steps must be done to 'try and solve' a 3G modem connection problem:

- Find vendorID : productID of your modem
>>> your modem must be 1c9e:f000

- search ubuntuforums & internet to find any helpful idea

- if above vendorID : productID refers to a ZeroCD, try some methods to switch it succesfully
>>> the result will be a NEW vendorID : productID showing the modem

- check if the system creates communication ports for your device now 'switched to real modem'
>>> use: dmesg and ls /dev/ttyU* (some drivers use other port name as /dev/ttyHS0 or /dev/ttyACM0)

- if ports are not created by the system, try to create them
>>> first find your kernel version: uname -a
>>> Ubuntu 9.04 with kernel up to 2.6.28-12 you must edit grub at boot
>>> kernel from 2.6.28-13 use sudo modprobe usbserial vendor=0x1c93 product=0xABCD (ABCD is the new productID after switching to modem state)

- check creation of ports: dmesg and ls /dev/... (as above)

- finally try to use a connection method: network manager, wvdial, pppconfig, gnome-ppp

Post any progress to follow up.

Regards,
George

mydiamond
September 23rd, 2009, 02:26 PM
Hi mydiamond, searching ubuntuforums we can find a lot of threads trying to connect a 3G modem (some of them succeeded, some other no). I searched and did not find a 'solution', so I am posting some ideas and notes.

Some 3G modems respond by default as an autorun virtual CD drive (ZeroCD) and need a 'switch' to the actual modem using various methods as 'ejecting ZeroCD', use of usb_modeswitch program, or newer 'udev-extras'. Each method has advantages and problems, requiring more or less user knowledge. More 'problems' occur when the modem is a new product and there are few users to try/use it with Ubuntu.


thanx 4 reply....
since i am a newbie in linux....i still cannot make it....

ming@ming-laptop:~$ uname -a
Linux ming-laptop 2.6.28-15-generic #52-Ubuntu SMP Wed Sep 9 10:49:34 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux



root@ming-laptop:/home/ming# apt-get install udev-extras
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
linux-headers-2.6.28-11 linux-headers-2.6.28-11-generic flashplugin-installer
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following NEW packages will be installed:
udev-extras
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 15.9kB of archives.
After this operation, 119kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://my.archive.ubuntu.com jaunty/universe udev-extras 0~-2~gite5fb9bd-1 [15.9kB]
Fetched 15.9kB in 1s (9364B/s)
Selecting previously deselected package udev-extras.
(Reading database ... 151607 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking udev-extras (from .../udev-extras_0~-2~gite5fb9bd-1_i386.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...



install udev-extras already, but dont know how to switch to modem state.....


my usb modem always detect as installation disk (but installer is for Window and Mac)....

GeorgeVita
September 23rd, 2009, 02:52 PM
Hi mydiamond, as you are first trying udev-extras, according to post:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=7622263&postcount=3

you must 'run' a command that creates a udev rule:

echo 'SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idProduct}=="f000", SYSFS{idVendor}=="1c9e", RUN+="/lib/udev/modem-modeswitch --vendor 0x1c9e --product 0xf000 --type option-zerocd"' | sudo tee /etc/udev/rules.d/45-3gmodem.rules

Reboot and try setup network manager.

If this did not work try usb_modeswitch (search internet for 1c9e:f000 )

Regards,
George

mydiamond
October 11th, 2009, 06:34 AM
tried usbmodeswitch d

also cant work......

anyone(especially those with experience installing this modem) can teach me step by step from the beginning?

i cant make it even i follow the tutorial frm other site(may be tat is for other modem)

please

thanx in advance

piju
October 11th, 2009, 03:03 PM
any progress ?

try this solution

http://www.sifoo.net/v2/?p=146

mydiamond
December 16th, 2009, 07:44 AM
any progress ?

try this solution

http://www.sifoo.net/v2/?p=146

finally did it.....woth the reference on sifoo.net

i write down the step by step iin my blog....:)

http://justfigureout.blogspot.com/:popcorn:

ylluigl
June 1st, 2010, 11:46 AM
i got csl u1-tf with 2020:f00e too.

what's the id to make it recognized as modem???

ylluigl
June 2nd, 2010, 03:29 AM
i've found the product ID for the modem mode - 1005

running the code sudo /usr/sbin/initmodem.sh by method somewhere i've seen is worked.
but after it said message successfully sent, running lsusb return me 2020:f00e. which the mode change didn't persist.

How? :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

pdc
June 2nd, 2010, 04:23 AM
why don't you start a new thread?

You might get more notice;

so tell us which country, what device and type


lsusb

so folks can work out what you are saying

lindevox
August 7th, 2010, 04:15 AM
Try this link, perhaps it may help : http://www.sifoo.net/v2/?p=146

pdc
August 7th, 2010, 06:34 AM
you may well recommend the link


Try this link, perhaps it may help : http://www.sifoo.net/v2/?p=146

and it advocates using usb_modeswitch;

usb_modeswitch keeps getting better and better;

the latest version should auto-configure;

so you shouldn't need to edit files .............

and you may well not need to use wvdial these days either ..