PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Tried to dual boot, but partitioning fails in install

shateredsoul
February 11th, 2009, 09:04 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Linux, and tried out wubi and loved it! I uninstalled wubi to try and dual boot my machine. Now i'm just trying to dual install it into my laptop (dell xps m140). I burnt a ubuntu install cd and made my computer boot from the cd.

It goes smoothly until I have to resize my partitions. I chose the top choice, the guided partition. Slide the bar to give Ubuntu about 35 gigs and the rest to windows xp...

then a box pops up with a bar and it says "resizing partition"

Shortly after it says, "An error occurred while writing the changes to the storage devices" and it skips to the next step.

Does anyone have any idea what is going on? Is there anything I can do through windows xp to fix this install? Should I just create the partition from Windows XP?

unixeducation
February 11th, 2009, 09:06 PM
Make sure you have enough space free on the existing Windows partition. If there isn't, the resize operation will fail.

avtolle
February 11th, 2009, 09:08 PM
Also, defrag your Windows installation before attempting to resize it.

shateredsoul
February 11th, 2009, 09:11 PM
Ok I will try defragging, but I definitely have enough space. I have 54.7 gigs free in my c drive.

shateredsoul
February 11th, 2009, 09:16 PM
Thank you for the advice. If that doesn't work is there any program that I can use on windows xp to partition my hard drive?

Mark Phelps
February 12th, 2009, 08:22 PM
Since you're using Windows XP, download and burn a GParted LiveCD, and boot using it. It will allow you to resize the Windows partitions as much as you want, and create any new partitions you want.

The CD ISO image can be downloaded from the following link:

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php

unixeducation
February 13th, 2009, 02:17 AM
This whole process will be a lot easier if you download the Ubuntu 32-bit ISO image and install from it.