PDA

View Full Version : The Dream Is Over...

glyons
December 20th, 2005, 10:12 PM
Sadly I'll have to stop using linux for a while. I recently bought a new laptop from Dell and forgot to buy the Windows XP MCE cd so I can't reinstall repartition or format the hard drive without losing my windows license (which I paid for :mad: ) and since I left the US to spend the holidays with my family in Colombia, I cannot call Dell and yell to get the bloody cds.

So, I'm pretty much stuck with Windows which is really sad because I've been using ubuntu almost exclusively for the last seven months.

Does anyone know if I can make Windows XP act like Gnome GUI-wise, using two panels instead of a Start Menu, and if there is any program to use global keyboard shortcuts in there.
I guess what I'll miss the most will be the xterm, I tried cygwin but it doesn't work as smoothly within windows.

I'll try to install ubuntu in a USB external drive when I have some free time.

I really don't understand why dell can't ship a bloody 10-cent disc for an OS I paid for.

Brunellus
December 20th, 2005, 10:21 PM
there is very likely a 'recovery partition', and also a program that will allow you to generate a set of recovery discs (once only) using that partition.

poofyhairguy
December 20th, 2005, 10:25 PM
Sadly I'll have to stop using linux for a while. I recently bought a new laptop from Dell and forgot to buy the Windows XP MCE cd so I can't reinstall repartition or format the hard drive without losing my windows license (which I paid for :mad: ) and since I left the US to spend the holidays with my family in Colombia, I cannot call Dell and yell to get the bloody cds.

So, I'm pretty much stuck with Windows which is really sad because I've been using ubuntu almost exclusively for the last seven months.

Does anyone know if I can make Windows XP act like Gnome GUI-wise, using two panels instead of a Start Menu, and if there is any program to use global keyboard shortcuts in there.