PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Multiple Desktops

machinelawn
February 8th, 2009, 05:31 AM
So im new to Ubuntu and have Gnome as my desktop.
what I am trying to accomplish is having multiple desktops with each desktop having different folders and files on it and a different wallpaper
so I guess what I am asking is if there is a way to do this?

skywatcher
February 8th, 2009, 09:08 AM
Ubuntu refers to these as "multiple workspaces". Your installation has a default number of four (I think?) workspace buttons. If you look at the bottom right-hand side of your screen (on the bottom "panel") you will see them there. Just click on one that is not highlighted and open whatever applications you wish. You can then switch between workspaces.

Here is a link that might help: http://library.gnome.org/users/user-guide/stable/overview-workspaces.html.en

Happy Ubuntuing!

machinelawn
February 9th, 2009, 07:08 AM
not quite what i'm thinking of what i want to do is have four different desktops while having four workspaces all of the workspaces display the same desktop i wand to have one or two workspaces be free of folders and have the others with different types of files. ie. one workspace with music another with text files and another with videos or something like that.

maspin
February 9th, 2009, 07:20 AM
I am pretty new as well. So I cant help you with the icon thing.

However, you CAN have different backgrounds for each one. The only method I know gets rid of all desktop icons though.

You have to use the Wallpaper plugin of Compiz. Add a few wallpapers to it. Then go to Configuration Editor, and "app->nautilus->preferences" then deselect show_desktop.

This will give each workspace a wallpaper depending on the order you arranged them in the Compiz Wallpaper plugin. But no desktop icons.

machinelawn
February 9th, 2009, 07:35 AM
I am pretty new as well. So I cant help you with the icon thing.