PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

paulkruger
February 7th, 2009, 08:24 PM
New member here...new to linux so a real dummy so far.

Excuse me if I ask what seems to be stupid questions but I am just starting out with Ubuntu on a spare machine to learn how to use it.

I plan to eventually eliminate the use of Windows assuming I can make linux do what I need for my business.

I am ok with the basics of finding and installing packages. I do have problems learning how to configure some things such as mounting NTFS partitions etc. so I can test my WINE on windows apps I need to run such as Quickbooks and Photoshop.

I know I can learn GIMP and probably do without Pshop but I have to keep Quickbooks because of my accountant and good old IRS.

I do try to find answers on line first however sometimes when I find an answer related to linux it just makes me scratch my head because many responses assume the viewer knows many things I don't.

Hope someone does not mind talking down to a newbie ! :p

jenkinbr
February 7th, 2009, 08:26 PM
We were all n00bies at one point in time...

xuCGC002
February 7th, 2009, 09:38 PM
I know I can learn GIMP and probably do without Pshop but I have to keep Quickbooks because of my accountant and good old IRS.

Acutally, instead of getting used to GIMP, you could get GIMPshop. (http://www.gimpshop.com/) It basically has the same interface.

darrenn
February 7th, 2009, 11:28 PM
Keir Thomas is pleased to announce that his new book, Ubuntu Pocket Guide and Reference, is now available. It's a compact yet comprehensive guide to all aspects of day-to-day Ubuntu use.

Keir's book make be purchased online from Amazon.com for a recession-busting $9.94. It's approximately 5x8 inches and 166 pages (ISBN 978-1440478291).