PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Katapult installation issues



nabilalk
February 6th, 2009, 07:35 AM
Hello,

I'm having problems with installation of Katapult.

Using terminal I tried to execute the ./configure command and got this error:



checking for snprintf... yes
checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X libraries. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!


I was unable to get to the point where I could execute the make cmd.

Any ideas how to deal with this error? I would have posted on the Katapult forums, but they appear to be down until further notice Thanks!

-nka

Partyboi2
February 6th, 2009, 07:57 AM
Try installing the libx11-dev package

sudo apt-get install libx11-dev
Then do ./configure again.

nabilalk
February 6th, 2009, 08:05 AM
Try installing the libx11-dev package

sudo apt-get install libx11-dev
Then do ./configure again.

Thanks, will give it a shot and post back with the results.

nabilalk
February 6th, 2009, 08:14 AM
Thanks, will give it a shot and post back with the results.

Results:


libx11-dev is already the newest version.
libx11-dev set to manually installed.
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
libxine1-x xchat-common libburn4 libxcb-xv0 libnotify-bin amarok-common
libboost-thread1.34.1 libxine1-bin libboost-date-time1.34.1
deluge-torrent-common ruby1.8 python-openssl libexo-0.3-0 ruby libxcb-shape0
libtunepimp5 libifp4 thunar-data tcl8.4 xsane-common libxvmc1 libpq5
libboost-filesystem1.34.1 libisofs6 libxcb-shm0 libnjb5 libthunar-vfs-1-2
libxine1-console
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded.

What should I do now?

nabilalk
February 6th, 2009, 08:36 AM
Results:



What should I do now?

After the previous apt-get install didn't work, I tried


sudo apt-get install kdelibs-dev

And voila! That worked. I was able to ./configure, then make, then sudo make install.

Thanks for the help.

Now that I have Katapult installed, how do I get the program to startup with the computer?

Partyboi2
February 6th, 2009, 08:51 AM
You can add it to "Sessions" (System>Pref>Sessions)