PDA

View Full Version : [other] Using Commview for wifi with Aircrack-ng

oddbirdman2009
February 6th, 2009, 03:23 AM
I have a bachelors in comp sci from before the time of wireless.

I am in a situation where I am staying in a motel. I need access to their wifi connection. I offered them 20 bucks fo acccess. They aren't sure what the key is for their router. I was told if I could acquire the key I could have access.

I watched a video on YouTube in which a kid used Commview for WiFi along with the GUI version of Aircrack-ng.

I am folowing his exact instructions but not getting the same results. I am monitoring Channel 1, gathering about 850,000 packets, then running aircrack-ng GUI. I direct Aircrack towards my .cap file then run it.

It then askes me for the index number of the network.

I enter one of the numbers which indicates there is an IV present.

It runs, says "Failed, next time try 5000 IVs."

it looks like it is only using 1 IV.

I'm lost at this point, can anyone help me out? I need this conection so I can get back to work and get my but out of a motel and back into a real home....

luig1
February 6th, 2009, 04:02 AM
Lucky for you I have done this before but I have done this in windows xp. Can you tell me your one(xp,vista,linux)?

oddbirdman2009
February 6th, 2009, 04:04 AM
I'm using Vista... I tried this before with the same exact results in XP, however...

luig1
February 6th, 2009, 04:18 AM
Yes but to get more ivs try using a bssid instead of indexing and aslo use ivstools to filter out all the non ivs. If you need more specifcs just ask.

oddbirdman2009
February 6th, 2009, 04:36 AM
I need a massive amount of more info...

If I specify the bssid in advanced it reads 10,000 IVs then re-reads them, and then just ends. nothing happens.

If I specify the Essid from the list it says the target network does not exist.

Please try and detail out what I should be doing....

luig1
February 6th, 2009, 04:46 AM