PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Flash Player Problem

frozenfire0808
February 5th, 2009, 11:22 AM
I'm pretty new to Ubuntu but I went to Ubuntu but I went to

http://community.abcfamily.go.com/watch/kyle-xy/company-men-full-episode

to watch an episode of Kyle XY I missed because of work and it said my flash player was not up to date to click on the link it provided
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

and Iclicked on the link and for the version I clicked
.deb for Ubuntu 8.04+ installed it but I still can't watch it.

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

apjone
February 5th, 2009, 12:25 PM
Have you restarted Firefox since?

frozenfire0808
February 5th, 2009, 12:28 PM
yes

ajgreeny
February 5th, 2009, 12:30 PM
You may need to uninstall flashplugin-nonfree first, if that is also installed on your system. You may also need to reinstall the adobe .deb file again. Check exactly what is installed using synaptic.

frozenfire0808
February 5th, 2009, 12:39 PM
In synaptic it says the status of Adobe Flash Player 10 is installed when I checked the common tab and in the installed files tab the files mention the word flash quite a bit.

Where is flashplugin-nonfree at?

frozenfire0808
February 5th, 2009, 12:45 PM
Never mind I found it. I'm going to close firefox and try the website again if it doesn't work I'll come back to this forum again .

frozenfire0808
February 5th, 2009, 12:55 PM
It didn't work I even tried reinstalling it. Are there any more suggestions?

ajgreeny
February 5th, 2009, 04:40 PM
Do you have gnash installed? The two certainly are not compatible and you should remove gnash if you have it.
Also have a look in FF using about:plugins in the address bar. It will list all your plugins and their files and pathways to them. You can also see what is showing in Tools > Add-ons and the plugin tab will show you which are enabled.

frozenfire0808
February 6th, 2009, 04:58 AM
I went to the synaptic package manager found gnash and it says it isn't installed.