PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.1 install using WUBI freezes at "checking installation"

2scott
February 4th, 2009, 08:09 PM
We are absolute beginners using Linux but intermediate users of Windows/Apple/MAC.

After several unsuccessful and frustrating attempts to install 8.1 by downloading and burning to CD/USB, we found a reference to WUBI and used it to install to a wiped slave 7G drive.

After entering the username and password, rebooted, selected UBUNTU and see the brown leather screen with "checking installation" message bar. The keyboard and mouse are unresponsive. After 2 hours, nothing happened.

Repeated the installation to the C drive - same problem.

Our system info: Windows XP - home SP2
AMD Sempron™ Processor - driver version 5.1.2600.0
3100+
1.8GHz, 1.43 GB RAM
Standard keyboard and mouse
Indeo video 5.10 (video Codecs)
Device manager does not have any properties for LEGACY Video Capture Devices
Multimedia audio controller does not have a driver – cannot find

We are very interested in trying UBUNTU and would appreciate any assistance you could provide! We look forward to your reply. MANY thanks. If you need any additional info - we will try to provide it.

avtolle
February 4th, 2009, 08:23 PM
Wondering; do you have some kind of RAID set-up going when trying to install on the slave drive, and when you tried to install on C, did you defragment the drive first? This response prompted by the Wubi Guide, which was accessed through the bottom sticky on the Wubi sub-forum.

2scott
February 4th, 2009, 08:35 PM
Many thanks for your reply!
We do not have the slave drive set up as a RAID.
We did not defrag the C drive first, but the 7G drive was empty/reformatted. We can uninstall, defrag C and try again. There was >60G free space on C when we started. It might take a while to defrag ... more later..
Thanks

avtolle
February 4th, 2009, 08:39 PM