PDA

View Full Version : Having issues with for loops in C

Iandefor
December 19th, 2005, 10:49 PM
I'm pretty new at programming, and I'm currently attempting to learn C.
In order to play with for loops, I wrote a program which is supposed to accept input of up to 10 characters (The idea is to have it stop inputting once the character array has been filled), enumerate how many characters there actually are, and then return the number of characters. Currently, there are two problems with it:

1. There is no limit to the amount of characters I can input.
2. No matter how many characters I enter, it consistently returns 1 as the
number of characters.

The program is pretty short and simple, so I'll just leave it here in the body of the message.

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
char a[11]; /* The character array a[11] used to store user input */
int b = 0, i; /* b is used to act as a counter for the number of */
/* digits in the character array, whereas i is a */
/* counter variable for the for loops */

for(i = 0; i <= 10; i++)
{
a[i] = getchar();
}

for(i = 0; a[i] != '\n'; i++);
{
b++;
}

printf("The string you entered above has %d characters in it.\n", b);

return 0;
}

amohanty
December 19th, 2005, 10:55 PM
The reason is getchar (http://www.cplusplus.com/ref/cstdio/getchar.html) will continue accepting input till you insert an EOF char ctrl-d. The reason it return 1 is because it keeps discarding the previous ones. See the link above to see an example.

AM

thumper
December 19th, 2005, 11:05 PM
Just an aside, it is the terminal that is buffering the input not getchar.

There was a big thread on ::ioctl a while back on this.

Iandefor
December 19th, 2005, 11:16 PM
I was a silly bugger in writing the above code... check line 15:

printf("The string you entered above has %d characters in it.\n", b); Note the semicolon.