PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] cant manually run dpkg --configure -a after failed install or upgrade

Asmund
February 4th, 2009, 04:54 PM
Can someone please help?

Im a bit new to linux, but apparently "the package libxine1-bin 1.1.15-0ubuntu3.1 failed to install or upgrade", and now whenever I try to run apt-get, or add/remove it tells me to manually run dpkg --configure -a.

However, when I run that in the terminal I only get:

dpkg: ../../src/packages.c:221: process_queue: Assertion `dependtry <= 4' failed.
Aborted

Running sudo apt-get -f install gives me:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
7 not fully installed or removed.
After this operation, 0B of additional disk space will be used.
dpkg: error processing libxine1-bin (--configure):
package libxine1-bin is not ready for configuration
cannot configure (current status `triggers-awaited')
dpkg: ../../src/packages.c:221: process_queue: Assertion `dependtry <= 4' failed.
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg exited unexpectedly

Allthough to be completly honest, Im not even sure what this command is supposed to do, I only ran it because thats what some other user on the forum with simular problems was told to try.. I know, I know... Im such a noob..

Ive been reading threw posts on the forum and tried running sudo dpkg -l | grep -v ^ii to get a list of faulty packages, which I could then remove, but that brings up:

Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Cfg-files/Unpacked/Failed-cfg/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Hold/Reinst-required/X=both-problems (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Description
+++-==========================================-=======================================-============================================

iF gxine 0.5.903-2ubuntu2 the xine video player, GTK+/Gnome user inter
rc libavcodec51 3:0.svn20080206-12ubuntu3 ffmpeg codec library