PDA

View Full Version : Critique please

Krupski
February 3rd, 2009, 11:40 PM
Hi all,

I am a (very) amateur programmer. All self taught, not one drop of formal programming instruction.

Anyway, I've been reading up on C programming conventions and techniques.

In most of the code I write (which is in assembler), I am fanatical about documentation. Virtually every line of code has a comment, because I can come back to an old program I wrote even a month ago and wonder "what the heck was on my mind?". The comments help immensely.

Anyway, I've been getting into C programming and my big concern is programming "style". Not to impress a C guru, but for understandability and readability in the future.

Everyone seems to have "their idea" of proper coding style, and I want to follow "proper" style, but with an emphasis on readability and understandability.

So, with that introduction, please take a look at the attached piece of code and tell me what you think about the comments, indentation, coding style, anything you can think of.

Don't be shy to criticize... I WANT to know what's right and wrong.

Thanks in advance to all!

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// cpus.c - by roger a. krupski (krupski@acsu.buffalo.edu)
// last update tuesday, 03 feb 2009
// purpose and description: this program opens files found
// in the "/sys/devices/system/cpu" directory and looks for
// the "cpuinfo_cur_freq" file for each processor. each file
// contains the current frequency for it's cpu in kilohertz. we
// read this file, then convert the number to hertz by dividing
// the number by 1e3 (1000). next we run the file through
// a loop that checks the value, divides by 1e3 (1000) and
// counts each iteration through the loop so that we get
// two things: (1) the number in the range of 1 to 9 and
// (2) the "1e3" multiplier which tells us if it's kilohertz,
// megahertz, etc...
// we add all the numbers we find together, then divide by