PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu mentioned in Jan Maximum PC

thecdn
December 19th, 2005, 08:31 PM
The Jan 2006 issue of Maximum PC has an article on building a pc for $300. For that money they couldn't use one of Bill's products so they chose linux - Ubuntu to be exact.

There is a 3 page write up on installing ubuntu for total newbies. It's good to see this in a main stream publication.

Some quotes:

"So we ditched Windows and installed Ubuntu, a Debian-based Linux distro suited for everyone from grandmas to power users. Ubuntu will let you do everything you need on your PC - browse on the web, check email, edit photos, and edit office files."

"In fact, this PC is capable of performing every single task we perform on a daily basis at our office desks"

"Heck, the Ubuntu Linux distro is so easy to use, we could even toss this PC Mom's way and tell here to have at it. Then we'd be able to tell our friends that we're so hardcore even our moms use Linux!"

It even mentions up front how to edit xorg.conf as the mobo they use has an ati based chip.

Very positive stuff.

Brunellus
December 19th, 2005, 08:39 PM
if any publication called "maximum pc" can be considered "mainstream."

I'll believe "mainstream" when ubuntu gets on publications not aimed specifically at computer geeks.

spdl
December 19th, 2005, 08:43 PM
The Jan 2006 issue of Maximum PC has an article on building a pc for $300. For that money they couldn't use one of Bill's products so they chose linux - Ubuntu to be exact.

There is a 3 page write up on installing ubuntu for total newbies. It's good to see this in a main stream publication.

Some quotes:

"So we ditched Windows and installed Ubuntu, a Debian-based Linux distro suited for everyone from grandmas to power users. Ubuntu will let you do everything you need on your PC - browse on the web, check email, edit photos, and edit office files."

"In fact, this PC is capable of performing every single task we perform on a daily basis at our office desks"