PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Total noob, probably in the wrong forum section :)

ambidextrousone
February 3rd, 2009, 03:45 PM
Hi,

Ive been using ubuntu for 6 months, have not looked back, nor plan on returning to windows - unless windows 7 is absolutely mind blowing, which im sure microsoft will ensure by the final release, is not the case.

within 6 month, ive done some things i never thought myself capable of, although simple to most, installing some of my favourite windows software proved tricky, but as most things here, the community got me through it. thing is, i seek a new challenge, i want to get a little more handy with bash :)

i was wondering if one of you guys could point me into the right direction of how i can duel-boot another flavour of linux, preferably one that will require a lot of time and effort to set up, but hopefully give me a greater insight to whats going on in the backseat of this lovely OS :) any suggestions of where i can go about getting this, please, do respond!

binbash
February 3rd, 2009, 03:49 PM
If you are going to install windows7, it destroys the grub.There are some howtos written at this forumm (also you can google it) for how to getting back the grub and dual boot :

http://blog.lokonopa.com/grub-up-windows-7/

ambidextrousone
February 3rd, 2009, 03:50 PM
no no, its not windows 7 i want, i want a difficult to set up version of linux that i can duel boot through grub, purpose being of getting a greater knowledge of linux, because as much as i love it, ubuntu didnt require me to know much about its inner workings, but to be quite honest, i dont know how to use grub, how embarrassing. its a greater knowledge of linux i seek, and i feel a difficult manual set-up would be a good place to start.

pbpersson
February 3rd, 2009, 03:58 PM
Grub should be something that just works behind the scenes that you will not need to "learn" - sort of when you used Windows and you relied on the MBR, it is all behind the scenes.