PDA

View Full Version : New Question for Dell Mini 9 with Ubuntu

billyjack
February 3rd, 2009, 01:12 AM
I am new to Ubuntu.. I purchased this mini 9 with Ubuntu and wondering why it shows I have 6.8 total gb and used 5.3gb available 1.5gb.. when I have nothing on this computer but Ubuntu.. nothing added.

Does Ubuntu take up that much? Also is it necessary to defrag this computer and if so how? and also disk cleanup?

Thanks
George

OutOfReach
February 3rd, 2009, 01:17 AM
Ubuntu should take up about 4gb, but maybe with all the things Dell added it comes up as 5gb.

No you don't need to defrag Ubuntu, or any Linux distribution for that matter.

CrazyDesi
February 3rd, 2009, 01:24 AM
Nope it just takes up that much space. One of the main reasons that I went for the Mini 12.

Sealbhach
February 3rd, 2009, 01:37 AM
What disk size did you order? Does it have a Disk Usage Analyser that shows you what's taking up space?

The standard Ubuntu contains this and shows a nice clear picture of what's using up your space (see attached image).

billyjack
February 3rd, 2009, 01:56 AM
Nope it just takes up that much space. One of the main reasons that I went for the Mini 12.

Thanks,

Well I bought an outside drive and will use that if I need to download anything.. but I surely thought I had enough memory and space to do what I need to do.

910 Intel Atom Processor 6ghz
1gb ddr2 533mhz
4gb solid state drive

Bölvağur
February 3rd, 2009, 02:04 AM
I guess you could remove bunch of packages, but you may want to get more familiar with the system before doing any surgery

henryw@cablespeed.com
May 9th, 2009, 06:53 PM