PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrading Javascript?

alias120
February 1st, 2009, 11:43 PM
Hi there, i am somewhat new to Ubuntu/Linux and i was having some troubles here. My current version of Javascript is 1.4, my university requires 1.5 or higher to view content on webpages. I have not been able to find how to update this at all, Updated java but javascript is still showing as 1.4. Any help here would be greatly appreciated, cannot do and school work until i get this figured out.

-alias

mikewhatever
February 1st, 2009, 11:56 PM
I think there is a confusion between java and javascript terminology. Assuming you need java, version 1.5 or later, you should first install either sun-java6-jre or sun-java5-jre as well as the comparative Firefox plugin, then check out this page https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Java

peakshysteria
February 1st, 2009, 11:56 PM
(Nice one mikewhatever).

Which OS are you running alias120? What Ubuntu version? 32 bit or 64 bit? Etc..

Partyboi2
February 2nd, 2009, 12:04 AM
Open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>terminal) and install sun-java5-bin

sudo apt-get install sun-java5-bin
then after it has finished set java-1.5.0 to default.

sudo update-java-alternatives -s java-1.5.0-sunOr if you want java-1.6.0

sudo apt-get install sun-java6-bin

sudo update-java-alternatives -s java-6-sun

alias120
February 2nd, 2009, 12:09 AM
I'm running Ubuntu 8.10, 32bit, and i needed javascript. I updated to sun-java6-jre but that did not affect the javascript version. I am wondering how to upgrade this.

-alias

mikewhatever
February 2nd, 2009, 12:46 AM
I'm running Ubuntu 8.10, 32bit, and i needed javascript. I updated to sun-java6-jre but that did not affect the javascript version. I am wondering how to upgrade this.

-alias

Can you perhaps tell us how you check the version of javascript.

alias120
February 2nd, 2009, 02:42 AM