PDA

View Full Version : Switching E-Mail addresses...

NintendoTogepi
February 1st, 2009, 06:50 AM
I've been using this one email from hotmail for about 5 years now. I think it's finally time to switch to another provider. (hotmail is losing support, I can't even use it for my iPod Toch)

1. Do most websites let you switch your default email address?

2. Which provider should I use? Yahoo? Gmail?

Polygon
February 1st, 2009, 07:02 AM
i had the same problem

i switched to gmail, if hotmail has POP3 support, you can have gmail download all of your old email messages off of your hotmail account (and delete them off the hotmail one as it does this) and then they will just appear in your gmail one.

Id use gmail. You get constantly growing space, the spam filters are excellent, and you can create custom filters, labels, and all sorts of fun gadgets. i love gmail, i have no plans to switch to anything else.

CraigPaleo
February 1st, 2009, 07:30 AM
I've had Gmail since they first came out, when you had to be invited. At that time, it was far better than Yahoo or Hotmail.

You cannot switch your default email address in the same sense you can switch a telephone number. I'm not sure about hotmail but Gmail will let you forward an email address to another and even accept forwarded emails form several others. If you're thinking about leaving hotmail, I'd look into the email forwarding abilities of hotmail. If they allow forwarding, keep it and forward it in order to ease the transition to your new provider.

igknighted
February 1st, 2009, 08:25 AM
i had the same problem

i switched to gmail, if hotmail has POP3 support, you can have gmail download all of your old email messages off of your hotmail account (and delete them off the hotmail one as it does this) and then they will just appear in your gmail one.