PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu for sale

mcloser
January 31st, 2009, 06:52 AM
Whats the prognosis that Ubuntu remains free and downloadable for years to come? Does anybody remember how easy MS OSs and Programs were to copy in the bad old days, really not that long ago.

Yes this is an inflammatory post, but meant to make people think. I haven't checked the legalese on ultimate permissions, rights and duties, because I'm not a lawyer and I wouldn't understand it. But, I am cynical enough to think that whomever ultimately owns Ubuntu could walk away with a mountain if enough people commit to it. A la MS.

In the retail world they call it 'bait and switch' in the drug world they call it getting a sucker hooked on junk. Give it to them for free and then make them pay.

Sorry folks but I am old enough to be that cynical. I love Ubuntu, I'm technical enough but trying RedHat for many years left me wanting a real Desktop, now Ubuntu is here with a nice Desktop and UNIX behind it. I love it and I'm using it, but I don't trust it.

smartboyathome
January 31st, 2009, 06:53 AM
The GPL prohibits the selling unless the source is released. So, unless they want to go the way of redhat (basically only good for support, as a free version is available), it won't happen.

Thirtysixway
January 31st, 2009, 06:58 AM
Whats the prognosis that Ubuntu remains free and downloadable for years to come? Does anybody remember how easy MS OSs and Programs were to copy in the bad old days, really not that long ago.

Yes this is an inflammatory post, but meant to make people think. I haven't checked the legalese on ultimate permissions, rights and duties, because I'm not a lawyer and I wouldn't understand it. But, I am cynical enough to think that whomever ultimately owns Ubuntu could walk away with a mountain if enough people commit to it. A la MS.