PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HELP - No CD installation

kwhip3
January 30th, 2009, 02:11 AM
TOTAL NEWBIE: I have done some reading and this has been addressed many ways but none seem to directly address my situation. First I am installing on a ToughBook w/ no CD & no network, unbootable USB and only a FDD and a brand new HDD. I can physically remove the HDD and connect it to another computer (via a PCMCIA adapter) where Windows recognizes it.

Where do I go from here? How can I create a bootable HDD without affecting the existing system? Is there a way to copy the Ubuntu onto the new HDD so I can boot the drive and then install from the new HDD? What about creating a bootable linux FDD w/ usb driver so I can connect to an external CD?

I really need someone to babystep me through this.

icheyne
January 30th, 2009, 03:50 PM
Wubi might be your best bet - http://wubi-installer.org/.

kwhip3
January 30th, 2009, 06:13 PM
icheyne: Thanks but I guess I need to elaborate a bit more. The system have no OS. I can boot from the FDD but I have no other means of connecting to the computer in its present state. I can physically remove the blank HDD but how can I configure it so it is bootable to the point where I can install Ubuntu?

icheyne
January 30th, 2009, 06:28 PM
That's a tough one. Would this help?

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SmartBootManager

Neural oD
January 30th, 2009, 06:40 PM
agreed - this is a very tough one - btw is there no way to overide that boot from usb - maybe try googling - maybe there is a way to flash the bios - and get a more up to date one

eilenbeb
January 30th, 2009, 06:51 PM
I remember seeing some tutorials on how to set up a copy of an installation cd on it's own cd-sized partition on a hard drive and booting from it.