PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu unexpectedly crashes on Toshiba laptop

solomonhomicz
January 30th, 2009, 01:44 AM
I'm trying to install 8.10 but it crashes a few minutes into installation, it also crashes a few minutes into running the live cd.
I previously installed 8.04 which worked fine for about a week then started crashing unexpectedly.
Toshiba Satellite M35X-S149, Intel Celeron M, 160g samsung HD, 60g Windows XP, 50g OpenSolaris 2008.11, and 50g free space.

I'm an engineering student and I want a Linux system on my laptop.
I really like Ubuntu (I've been running 8.04) in VirtualBox for some time now - I'd really like to let it out of the box - any suggestions welcome.

solomonhomicz
January 30th, 2009, 06:06 AM
Just tried installing ubuntu with wubi, it installed but when I went to boot up it suddenly crashed.
OpenSolaris runs beautifully, I'm heading over to their forum now to see if I can get help porting a Debian package that has the modem driver I need for my dial-up at home.
I have posted a few times with this problem before, why does the power just suddenly shut off when I try to run ubuntu?
Is their anybody with any ideas?

tommcd
January 30th, 2009, 08:34 AM
Just tried installing ubuntu with wubi, it installed but when I went to boot up it suddenly crashed.

Have you tried doing a real install?
That is, boot the Ubuntu 8.10 (latest version) live CD and click the install icon. You will need to create (at least) 2 partitions (one for root and a smaller one for swap) and then install Ubuntu to the root partition.

EDIT: If running the live CD crashes, you may have better luck installing from the alternate install CD. This is a text based install that will provide the most fail safe environment for installing Ubuntu.

solomonhomicz
January 30th, 2009, 05:26 PM
Have you tried doing a real install?

I did a full install of 8.04 a couple of months ago, this worked fine for about a week.