PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] sudo: not found

Chapati
January 28th, 2009, 08:10 AM
Hey everyone,

I installed the latest version of Ubuntu. When the computer boots up, the Ubuntu command prompt loads up. I can't bring up the desktop because everytime I type sudo it say sudo: not found.

Help? I'm a complete newbie to Linux; never used it before and have only used Windows.

Crafty Kisses
January 28th, 2009, 08:12 AM
Remember in Linux things are case sensitive, so if you are typing the following:

SudoYou will be getting the "command not found" error, but if you type the following:
sudoThat should actually work, if that doesn't work please get back to me.

Chapati
January 28th, 2009, 08:17 AM
I've been using lowercase.

I even tried reinstalling Ubuntu, still getting the error.

phrostbyte
January 28th, 2009, 08:25 AM
please paste in the output of "whereis sudo"

Chapati
January 28th, 2009, 08:41 AM
I get "whereis: not found" for whereis.

Could I have possibly downloaded a faulty iso?

Also when I try "find sudo" it says no such file or directory exists (if that helps).

phrostbyte
January 28th, 2009, 08:50 AM
If you are missing the "whereis" utility you have some serious issues over there.

anyway the output should look exactly like this:

bash: whereis: command not found

if not try typing "bash" and see if anything happens

But most likely you have a bad disc. I think there is a way to check if your disc is bad.

kshtjsnghl
January 28th, 2009, 09:02 AM
You can run the md5 check sum for the disc to know if the disc is correct...

mcduck
January 28th, 2009, 09:38 AM
You have to telell "sudo" what you want to do. running "sudo" alone is not going to take you anywhere.

The "sudo: not found" error doesn't mean that it couldn't find "sudo". It means you are running sudo, but sudo can't find what you are trying to run. (If "sudo" itself was missing you'd get error like this: "bash: sudo: command not found")

SeanHodges
January 28th, 2009, 10:04 AM