PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 10 GB lost after zero filling HDD.



sadicote
January 27th, 2009, 08:52 AM
I had Windows XP with which i had partitioned my 160 GB hard drive, installed it on 10 GB and then installed Ubuntu over it. Because of some problems with my Nvidia drivers, and after gaining enough confidence with Ubuntu Ibex, i decided to zero fill my Hdd with my Seagate tools for DOS and reinstall Ubuntu. After the 'full erase' operation my 160 GB Hard disk showed capacity as only 150 GB. How can i recover my HDD max. native capacity?

Also, now the partitions that i made with Windows XP are also inaccessible to me after deleting XP from it, as seen from the screenshots, even though i reformatted them using Gparted. I am willing to backup and reinstall, if that is what it takes.:)

halovivek
January 27th, 2009, 09:02 AM
The Linux swap partition is still exists in your hard disk. The picture which you have posted is telling.

sadicote
January 27th, 2009, 09:13 AM
That's part 2 of the problem (ie. post-installation), even so how to make this available as free space for storage.

halovivek
January 27th, 2009, 09:36 AM
If you are not using the Linux anyway. In windows- my computer- manage- disk storage . Right click on that 10GB and delete the partition. If you want to use that in Linux. Create a swap file instead of SWAP partition and you can use that one.

bgerlich
January 27th, 2009, 09:55 AM
The 10Gb is not lost. The drive manufacturer states the driver size in gb as in 1000 Mb. The partitioning tool shows size as it is supposed to be gb = 1024 mb , thus the diffrence

sadicote
January 27th, 2009, 10:55 AM
The 10Gb is not lost. The drive manufacturer states the driver size in gb as in 1000 Mb. The partitioning tool shows size as it is supposed to be gb = 1024 mb , thus the diffrence
No, i don't think that's it, coz i had my capacity listed as 160.042 GB. And i have used zero fill before. It was only after erasing this dual boot system that i had this shortfall. Also when i try to set capacity to max. native, i get an error message, with "could not set capacity to max. native"

halovivek
January 27th, 2009, 10:59 AM
Could you post what is the operating system version of the system?
is it 32 bit or 64 bit. since 32 bit have limitation showing the higher data size.

sadicote
January 27th, 2009, 11:02 AM
32 bit, i386 version

talsemgeest
January 27th, 2009, 11:46 AM
32 bit, i386 version
...of which version of windows?

hyper_ch
January 27th, 2009, 11:49 AM
The 10Gb is not lost. The drive manufacturer states the driver size in gb as in 1000 Mb. The partitioning tool shows size as it is supposed to be gb = 1024 mb , thus the diffrence

I agree here

hd manufacturers use 1000 and not 1024. So 160 GB = 160'000'000'000 bytes.

However 160'000'000'000 bytes = 156'250'000 kb = 152'587.89 mb = 149.01 gb.

mcduck
January 27th, 2009, 11:54 AM
I don't really see any problem there.

9,77GiB + 3GiB + 34,53GiB + 1,52GiB + 100,22GiB = 149,04GiB (160,03GB)

And the disk itself is 149,05GiB (160,04GB)

halovivek
January 27th, 2009, 12:19 PM
I agree here

hd manufacturers use 1000 and not 1024. So 160 GB = 160'000'000'000 bytes.

However 160'000'000'000 bytes = 156'250'000 kb = 152'587.89 mb = 149.01 gb.

I agree with this.

Roadbloc
January 27th, 2009, 05:02 PM
This may not be much help by try http://partitionlogic.org.uk/


;)

sadicote
January 28th, 2009, 01:51 AM
I am comforted by your arithmetic, that's the exact figure, but i am telling the truth when i say that after an earlier zero-fill my capacity was displayed as 160.042 GB (by the Seagate tools for DOS), it was only after using it when i had this dual-boot 'WindowsXP and Ubuntu Ibex' system that this happened--and all you are trying to do is help--i am disgusted with myself!

talsemgeest
January 28th, 2009, 01:56 AM
So the seagate tools now say 150GB? Or are you using a different program, because different porgrams count it differently.

sadicote
January 28th, 2009, 02:10 AM
This may not be much help by try http://partitionlogic.org.uk/


;)

Looks very promising..just downloaded it..will update here, later.

sadicote
January 28th, 2009, 02:28 AM
So the seagate tools now say 150GB? Or are you using a different program, because different porgrams count it differently.

So it doth say, the very same Seagate tool :)

sadicote
January 29th, 2009, 04:10 PM
This is the output of 'sudo fdisk -l:
Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x556b556b

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 1275 10241406 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 1276 6374 40957717+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda3 6375 19457 105089197+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda5 1276 1667 3148708+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda6 1668 6175 36210478+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 6176 6374 1598436 82 Linux swap / Solaris
sade@sade-desktop:~$

My problem is how to make /dev/sda3 available for storage. I followed the posts on HDD partitioning, etc. but i still don't get it; what can i say, i am a moron, but i am committed to Ubuntu.:D