PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Virtualbox

loyaleagle
January 27th, 2009, 06:27 AM
Just a question.... I got XP running within Virtualbox in Ubuntu. All is fine and working great. I had to do this because my work with a major hotel company, that will remain unnamed, requires that I use Windows and Internet Explorer. Ubuntu us a no go with them and their website is unavailable through Ubuntu Firefox.

Now for the question. Do I have to run a virus screener with XP that is running in Virtualbox. Or am I safe as is.

Thanks.

Orographic
January 27th, 2009, 06:38 AM
You can still get a virus. Its just that it will be contained in that virtual machine, within the guest OS. It depends on how you use your guest OS. If you are using it to surf the net, then yes, install an antivirus. Avira Free is very good.

Check with others though, I am no expert on this. Make a copy of your virtual machine just after you install and activate it. That way, you at least have a file of your guest OS that is clean.

zero244
January 27th, 2009, 07:00 AM
The above advice is correct.
Ubuntu is safe but Windows isn't.
The only way I have found to protect Windows close to 100 percent is to use a third party program called DeepFreeze. Its only about 35 or 40 dollars. Its very easy to install and implement.

It will be the best money you've ever spent protecting Windows from itself.

The nice thing about the program, it doesn't bog your machine down at all that I can tell, unlike virus scanners that bring Windows down to a crawl most of the time.

Windows is the most insecure OS ever created.

I run XP in vmware player and keep deepfreeze turned on whenever Im surfing or doing anything on the net.
Good luck

HavocXphere
January 27th, 2009, 11:39 AM
If you are *only* using the MS virtual OS to interact with this 1 site then there is little danger. If you also use it to visit dubious sites then you need a hardcore anti-virus and firewall.;)

talsemgeest
January 27th, 2009, 11:52 AM