PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error while updating.

Karnigan
January 26th, 2009, 06:19 PM
I have a Dell Inspiron Mini 9 which came preloaded with Ubuntu. I've some experience with older distributions of RedHat, but in general my Linux-based experience (and knowledge, obviously) is quite limited.

I've recently begun using the mini as a wireless gateway, essentially. I found a post on these forums illustrating how to, via the terminal, take the incoming wireless signal and share it to the wired NIC device (which I have connected to my PC). It's worked pretty well, although it's been somewhat flaky (e.g. upon restarting, I've always had to go through the series of commands to get the sharing to work properly.)

I'm getting off topic, though.

The auto-updater notified me I had updates to download. To avoid the whole restart/reprogram sequence to have the internet sharing work, I put off the download for about a week. When I finally got around to it, oh boy- world of hurt.

The update downloaded just fine. Upon installation, however, it locked up the computer. I rebooted it and it sat at a screen with a flashing "_" for about five minutes, then continued to successfully load into the operating system. I had no USB or touchpad mouse functionality. After messing with a few key commands I navigated my way to the mouse properties, checked and unchecked a few boxes, and the mouse came back (touchpad, not USB). I proceeded to attempt and finish the update, figured I'd troubleshoot the mouse thing later.