PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Java



Tmoney1309
January 26th, 2009, 04:36 AM
I installed Java on my computer (Ubuntu 8.04) and im not sure if it is working or not. I tried to test it at java.com, but it isnt working. Does anybody know how to find out if it is working?

taurus
January 26th, 2009, 04:40 AM
How did you install it? What's the output of this command from a terminal?

Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal

java -version

cardinals_fan
January 26th, 2009, 04:42 AM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Java

minsf
January 26th, 2009, 04:43 AM
also interesting is the output of

sudo dpkg -l | grep java

Tmoney1309
January 26th, 2009, 04:52 AM
I typed what you said and this is what appeared-

java version "1.6.0_07"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_07-b06)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 10.0-b23, mixed mode, sharing)

igknighted
January 26th, 2009, 04:57 AM
If you type "about:plugins" in firefox, does it list a java plugin?

Tmoney1309
January 26th, 2009, 04:57 AM
ii java-common 0.28ubuntu3 Base of all Java packages
ii libaccess-bridge-java 1.22.0-0ubuntu5 Java Access Bridge for GNOME
ii sun-java6-bin 6-07-3ubuntu2 Sun Java(TM) Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 (ar
ii sun-java6-jre 6-07-3ubuntu2 Sun Java(TM) Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 (ar

igknighted
January 26th, 2009, 04:58 AM
ii java-common 0.28ubuntu3 Base of all Java packages
ii libaccess-bridge-java 1.22.0-0ubuntu5 Java Access Bridge for GNOME
ii sun-java6-bin 6-07-3ubuntu2 Sun Java(TM) Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 (ar
ii sun-java6-jre 6-07-3ubuntu2 Sun Java(TM) Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 (ar

Ahh, forget my last post... type (in the terminal) 'sudo apt-get install sun-java6-plugin'

Tmoney1309
January 26th, 2009, 05:02 AM
no, there is no plug in for Java

Tmoney1309
January 26th, 2009, 05:04 AM
alright, I typed that in the terminal and now it says-

Setting up sun-java6-plugin (6-07-3ubuntu2) ...

Tmoney1309
January 26th, 2009, 05:04 AM
Its not doing anything though

igknighted
January 26th, 2009, 05:14 AM
Its not doing anything though

Did you restart firefox?

Tmoney1309
January 26th, 2009, 05:23 AM
My java still isnt working, do you know how to enable it? also do you know how to install and open frostwire?

igknighted
January 26th, 2009, 05:56 AM
My java still isnt working, do you know how to enable it? also do you know how to install and open frostwire?

Frostwire should work fine for you (you have have installed, you just don't have the firefox web plugin working).

Are you running 64bit? There is no 64bit browser plugin, unless you use the pre-release version.

minsf
January 26th, 2009, 06:53 PM
as the previous post suggests, there is no support for x64.
we can still guide you through installation of java5 in this case, or of the latest release of java6.
so please let us know if you are running 32 or 64 bit.
also please post the current output of

sudo dpkg -l | grep java
(we need to verify that the sun-java6-plugin package was installed successfully)

minsf
January 26th, 2009, 06:58 PM
you seem to have another thread on the same issue:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1050606
please keep track of you threads, rather than starting new threads
cheers :)