PDA

View Full Version : ld hates my nasm...

jimi_hendrix
January 26th, 2009, 03:16 AM
so i have a hello world program but i get this output:

ld: i386 architecture of input file `hello.o' is incompatible with i386:x86-64 output
how can i fix this (please give sample commands to compile/link)

but if i dont specify the program as 64bit then i get

ld: i386 architecture of input file `hello.o' is incompatible with i386:x86-64 output

NathanB
January 26th, 2009, 03:58 AM
Did you not tell NASM to give an ELF64 style object format??

NathanB
January 26th, 2009, 05:12 AM
Also, always get (and build from scratch) your development tools from the latest source:

http://www.nasm.us/

The .deb package in the 64-bit Ubuntu repository {the last time I checked} is a very buggy version that was never intended for distribution. ( the price one pays for relying on a popular "distro" )

sandcrawler
January 28th, 2010, 09:13 PM
I just started playing with asm again... Here's what I found....

using the tutorial HERE (http://www.cin.ufpe.br/%7Eif817/arquivos/asmtut/index.html) I copied their asm hello world code

assembled the code into an object

nasm -f elf hello.asm then tried to link it...

ld -s -o hello hello.o I got the same error as you... After much searching I found the key to getting 32bit code to run on x86_64 IN THIS CASE ONLY is as simple as

ld -melf_i386 -s -o hello hello.o Further reading indicates having to specify something like BITS 16, 32 or 64 in the asm and which opcodes are expected when doing so. That's all far above me right now and may well be more than I care about since I'm primarily learning asm to improve my hacking skills. (I'm a CEH, so this is all legit ;) )

Edit 2: I also found you can adjust the output format from nasm and compile the code in the sample url to run in 64 bit

nasm -f elf64 hello.asm
ld -s -o hello hello.o
P.S. I'm running gentoo, not Ubuntu so you may need to load whatever packages Ubuntu provides for 32 lib emulation.

Ishipaco